We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Spent a night at House Higgo as a family. Our rooms were tastefully decorated, and opened out onto the stunning garden. The housekeeper/manager Simon went out of his way to please us. We had a fantastic 'homely' meal in the small library next to the fireplace, and breakfast outside on the patio (just outside of our rooms). We came home to a nice 'surprise' in the rooms. Small things could be added to the rooms and service, but overall it was an extremely pleasant stay, and I would definately like to go back there. The house has a very relaxed and homely feel to it.

Room Tip: I understand that the rooms are being upgraded, but the 'family cottage' certainly lacks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TradewindExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    18
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
33
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed for over 10days with my girlfriend on a work trip.
Simon the house manager is very friendly and excellent!!
The gardens,pool and views are as good as you will get!
Rooms are large with access to pool and gardens. Great bathrooms too.
My girlfriend felt very safe and at home when I was working.
A subtle and stylish place. Plenty of parking!
Dan

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. The one by the jacuzzi is a little noisy due to the jacuzzi pump,if left on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danthestuntman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed at House Higgo early March- good value for money.
A few things could be a little bit better-
small bottles of still water in rooms
fans in the rooms as there in NO aircon
more variety for breakfast.

Room Tip: If more than 2 of you don't go the cottage unless you get on very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annewalsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

OVERALL: All rooms are spacious but vary in standard. Beautiful guesthouse, gardens and stunning pool. Service is good but this guesthouse amenities lacks those small details expected from a 4 star rating.

ROOMS: I had the honeymoon suite which was large, clean had a very comfortable bed. I was however given only one large towel and the room did not have aircon. The satellite TV worked. Ample cupboard space but no hangers! My colleagues room at the same price had no view and was tucked at the back of the property, it got incredibly hot without aircon or even a fan. This surprised me for a 4 star guesthouse.

GROUNDS: The pool was stunning and large ans set amongst roiling lawns with plenty of greenery. There was no courtesy bar and on arriving back from dinner we were unable to have drinks as the cabinet was locked.

SERVICE: Service was friendly and overall good. On arrival they could not figure out which room I was in and could not find my booking. I also waited 10 minutes for the gate to be open for me on arrival. Location is in a suburban area and a bit far from restaurants and stuff to do.

BREAKFAST: They promptly prepared a breakfast of our choice. Eggs, bacon and tomatoe with toast. The breakfast spread was limited but sufficient. The fruit juice was not 100% which should be a given. The coffee was instant and when we asked for plunger coffee it wasn't prepared properly and had all the granules in it! I couldn't drink it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We loved our stay at House Higgo which is where we culminated our South African vacation. Aside from great staff (Tembe was awesome), the property and rooms were gorgeous and breathtaking. It really felt like a spa cation. The rooms are sophisticated and nicely decorated, the grounds and property are amazing as are the terraces, and the pool area. You even have a view of the city. We thought we had made a mistake and converted incorrectly because the place FELT more expensive that it was for us.

The only drawback is that they were located very far from the airport and city (a little over an hour). If you don't care, this is a MUST MUST MUST.

Room Tip: You can't go through choosing any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
8.5 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
Melleney's Exclusive Guest House
#50 of 68 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
23.7 mi away
Centurion Golf Suites Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ehlathini Lodge
Ehlathini Lodge
#1 of 4 in Marken
32 reviews
23.3 mi away
Leopardsong Manor
Leopardsong Manor
#1 of 13 in Centurion
79 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 77 in Sandton
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse

Property: House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 197 Senior Drive | Northcliff Ext 2, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Years of experience in the Boutique market have set the standard for our impeccable service which will be your assurance of a truly unforgettable experience. Arriving at this magnificent home away from home, you will find unsurpassed levels of elegant and discreet service to which will satisfy the most discerning of tastes. House Higgo is the ideal venue for hosting any event - from functions requiring flair and elegance to a simple family get together. Bone fide guests can utilise our venue to host anything from corporate events to cocktail parties, year-end functions, birthday parties, anniversaries or simply a High Tea...We boast a long list of successful events our guests have hosted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing