We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe del Sol Classico

Cafe del Sol Classico
Ranked #2 of 1,172 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This is, in my opinion, probably the best restaurant in Johannesburg. The food is unbelievably good and the service is better than almost any other restaurant I have eaten at. The wine list is also very impressive, with many un-common estates featured, which is so refreshing compared to the same old same old..... Not the cheapest in town, but always a first choice for a special occasion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    191
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Had a birthday celebration last night and whilst I am a regular the overall quality of food, service and attention to detail was superb. My thanks to Alex who as usual made the night special - not to be missed for the "foodies" out there, but booking essential.

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Proper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

There are so many dubious Italian restaurants around that one tends to be a little mistrusting but not in the case of Cafe Del Sol - this place is authentic. We were a party of 5 and had a fantastic lunch there. Service was sharp and professional and the food VERY tasty and well plated. Portions excellent and the prices for both food and wine is reasonable.
this is a "proper" restaurant. Will visit again on our next trip. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“LUCIANA AND FAMILY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

THIS IS NOT "ONE" OF THE BEST MEALS I HAVE EVER HAD IN A RESTAURANT - IT IS 'THE BEST'. This is without doubt an eating experience which is second to none - there are NO other restaurants that I have visited in Johannesburg that come even close - well done - don't ever allow it to change. I actually did NOT want to write a review because I wanted to keep this secret to myself............

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DMRJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The menu (though rather large and pricy) is filled with interesting meals. The pastas are delicious and the deserts are incredible!
A truly enjoyable treat. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joss227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe del Sol Classico also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe del Sol Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing