We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What kind of a rubbish buffet limits quantities?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Vasili's at Morningside - CLOSED

Vasili's at Morningside
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Sandton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What kind of a rubbish buffet limits quantities?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We went for Sunday buffet lunch, prawns were included on the menu but I'm so mad that someone (possibly the owner) stood next to the prawns and limited quantities by dishing up for customers and questioning how many times they've been back for prawns. What kind of a rubbish buffet is this?! I feel cheated! Take the prawns off the menu if you are so stingy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Good food, indifferent service and shocking management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Food was good, service was indifferent to poor but the management was a real shocker. Evening ruined, won't be back and definitely a restaurant to avoid.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therunningmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great vegetables”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We enjoyed a great meal. Although they managed to mess up our order the error ended up being a good mistake. Fries were ordered but they brought vegetables instead and they were excellent. The staff are attentive and helpful. Worth trying this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doppierunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wont return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I bought a daddysdeal whereby you get R300 of the Bill for R150.

We got there on time after making a reservation and had to wait in the cold outside, which looked dirty and shabby. The salmon platter sushi was bad and the rice tasted bitter. The sushi was tiny as well. The service was bad and overpriced and a shabby environment. Will not go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinaxyz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Certainly my favourite restaurant for Prawns in Johannesburg. Great setting with a unexpected wooden deck with a view, great for a sundowner or private party.

Pity about Groupon deals - last time I visited the restaurant was buzzing with randoms pigging out on the special groupon deals and this really messed up the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vasili's at Morningside also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing