We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, Tasty Chow”

Mexican Fresh Craighall
Ranked #609 of 1,184 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual Tex-Mex sit-down/takeaway that prides itself on making fresh, great tasting food!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great, Tasty Chow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Mexican Fresh is a great spot for anyone who wants fast food that is healthier than the traditional "burger joint" options. Like the name implies, the ingredients are always fresh.

Don't pass up on trying their awesome variety of Jalapeno Poppers!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keichelpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food for real hungry people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our meal was great and not the traditional Tex Mex we have become used to as South Africans with large quantities of unhealthy food smothered in cheese and chili. I had the nachos and the Chilli con carne which were great and my friends had the chicken and strawberry salad and the nachos. It was good delicious Mexican food, Mexican style not SA style.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancoisV-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever experienced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Upon visiting the Randburg area on a recent trip to Johannesburg, we decided to try something that is not available in the bush where we live, and up popped Mexican Fresh on our iPhone Around Me app. So off we went, and from the get go we were treated with wonderful service, fantastic frozen margaritas, and what I really feel was one of the best meals we have ever had. I had the chicken fajitas, and my partner had the chimmichanga. We both could not believe the fantastic fresh taste, and upon our last bite were exceptionally upset that we could not order any more. I recommend this to anyone with a love of food, whether you enjoy Mexican or not - All of the traditional sides (guacamole, rice, chili, salsa, cream etc) all come on the side for you to create the dish exactly how you like it. Delicious, and will absolutely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LodgeTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
215 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food in the northern suburbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We visited for the first time after passing the restaurant on many occassions. We were very pleasantly surprised. The food and the service were excellent. I had the fajita quesadilla and my wife the chilli con carne, according to her the best she ever had.

The place is a strange mix between a sit down restaurant and a take away. The only reason for not giving an excellent rating is the lack of atmosphere as sit down restaurant.

Will definitely visit again

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BertusJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexican Fresh Craighall also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mexican Fresh Craighall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing