We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of StayEasy Eastgate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
StayEasy Eastgate
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in almost every Southern Sun hotel in South Africa due to my previous profession. As the name says, this is a "Stay easy" and not a holiday hotel. Perfect for quick stays and comfortable enough to make you feel "at home"...but not for too long. Greatest part of the hotel is its location to the Eastgate mall. We had dinner at the mall. Check in and check out was quick and pain-free. Staff were friendly enough. Our one complaint would be with regards to breakfast, unless you're an early riser and get there early most of the buffet breakfast finishes quickly. The tables weren't cleared quickly and we had to stand around for a few seconds to try spot a clean, free table.

All in all its a good budget hotel. We tried to log on to the WiFi but didn't understand how it worked so gave up. We will use it again if we're in need of easy and affordable accomodation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lesego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    60
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
30
22
12
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I needed to be back in South Africa for a spell to tend to personal matters and needed conveniently positioned hotel to stay where I can do some work as well as rest. The staff have all been wonderful and friendly - especially Saffiya and Anthonie in the management team made my most comfortable and went out of their way to do so! With breakfast included I think this is a great deal!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ivan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed for 5 days and enjoyed. Just need to work more the staff. I reserved a room with couple bed and when i arrieved they gave me a room with twin beds, something that left me very upset.
But in resume, i liked my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci0DAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka Province, Zambia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had stayed over here. A day before I left the country I had bought 500g of chocolates and left it in the room cause in the morning I had to go out. When I came back to my room I don't find my chocolates so I complained to the manager and he kept on saying he can't do anything then I said write it on the piece of paper, he refused then I said let me record you saying you can't do anything he kept quiet for 15 minutes. It shows that the manager doesn't care about his customers that's terrible! The manager can go through the housekeeping list to see you cleaned the room. But he just wasted my time. This hotel is not safe at all! I could only say best of luck! Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NimishaaDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is very neat, friendly staffs, easy check in and out, but can we have different meals each day? It was too monotonous and Christmas with you was very boring and please improve on telephone customer service, we didn't get much help from your team when we called from out of south Africa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Esther Olufunke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very disapointed that i couldnt get breakfast, area was fairly busy and all the empty tables were dirty and no one to clean up. Has to sit at a dirty table with dirty plates from the earlier customer. Asked the staff to clean up but was ignored. The eggs were finished but managed to salvage 2 pieces of cold bacon and a slice of toast. Asked the staff if there was any more and was ignored.' will never use a stay easy hotel again.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane5097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Wat I liked
Next to Eastgate shopping mall
Reasonable price
Breakfast included
Friendly reception staff

Wat I didn't like
Wifi only free for one gadget per room even if you book a double room only one gadget can access the free wifi. Very annoying especially if u r 2 in a room.
There was some strong smell in th room. Smelt like dust coming from the carpet or smoke somewhere. I stayed in room 325 and I could not sleep because of breathing difficulties.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbuyaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#35 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#38 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.2 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StayEasy Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StayEasy Eastgate

Property: StayEasy Eastgate
Address: 8 South Boulevard | Bruma, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — StayEasy Eastgate 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For affordable accommodation in the eastern suburbs of Johannesburg choose the StayEasy Eastgate Hotel. Situated midway between the Joburg CBD and the O.R. Tambo International Airport this hotel is a favourite of business and leisure travellers alike. Equipped with all the comforts of home, offering excellent service and great facilities this hotel offers some of the most affordable accommodation you will find in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stayeasy Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing