We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court Eastgate
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Emalahleni, South Africa
1 review
“Value for money”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Reception staff are so friendly and efficient. Food was good indeed Mr Chef is doing excellent job. Also the rooms are neat. The hotel also is situated in a good area, close to the Airport ans shopping mall.



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Melody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    77
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
46
32
11
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Baie
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed there with family from 24.09.2013 to 02.10.2013. The rooms are small and you can not open the window as there are nests of pigeons.The hotel staff are nice at start but after you should request to simple things like toothbrush,shaving kit or even a comb.They charge R50 for shuttle to go to Eastgate mall which is five minutes walk.Overall i will give an average score to this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing eastgate mall as you will be able to open your window for fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogesh3177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanger, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed a weekend,location is very cental from joburg an fordsburg staff warm,although came in late,room was ready for me,pool nice,breakfast good variety,east gate mall 5 min away an 15 min from airport,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luqman789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed there mid-July for the second time this year. The location is very convenient to the airport and shopping at Eastgate. The staff are very friendly and efficient and all the facilities work. My only problem was with the dining room. Buffet dinner offering commercial sausages (bangers), stew, dried out chicken fillets with pumpkin, cauliflower, pap, rice doesn't equate to R165 for me! Breakfast is supposed to commence at 06h30 and I was there as I had to catch an early flight. The food was only all put out by 06h45 and a chef didn't appear to cook eggs until 06h50! I believe the dining room needs some serious attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have stay in this hotel several times since it was Holiday Inn. The hotel is renovated now with a more modern look. The service is good and the rooms are large and comfortable with all the facilities we need. The food is nice and the staff is friendly. What I like most is its location, just 5 minutes from the Eastgate Mall and another minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Great business hotel, only 15 min from OR Tambo.

Across the road from Eastgate shopping mall. This is a huge shopping centre.

The rooms are simple and you need to pay extra for wifi.
The price is not cheap so if you are expecting something very special rather choose another hotel.
South Africa needs to catch up with the rest of the world when it comes to free wifi.

The breakfast is also simple but included in room price.

The staff are very friendly!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed for 2 Nights at this Hotel and i must say that the staff is very courteous and helpful. Food is excellent ( except for veg choices which is very limited).
The Room is neat and tidy and very comfortable.
The Mall is just across the street and is walking distance from the hotel. Transfers can be organized for reasonable tarifs, to Sandton or even to the airport.
All in all, it has been a very good experience and i would recommend it to fellow travellers.
As a closing line, i would say that it was quite safe to walk around the Hotel and mall even after 6 PM, but then, might just be a question of luck!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#34 of 66 in Johannesburg
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
4.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 66 in Johannesburg
169 reviews
6.6 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#21 of 66 in Johannesburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Eastgate

Property: Garden Court Eastgate
Address: Ernest Oppenheimer Avenue | Bruma, Johannesburg 2026, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Eastgate 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers proximity to the CBD, while ensuring that guests can enjoy a slower pace during their downtime. Within minutes of the O.R. Tambo International Airport, the Garden Court Eastgate also offers easy access to a range of leisure activities in the vicinity. It is on the doorstep of the Eastgate Mall, one of the country’s largest shopping centres. Set amidst attractive gardens, the hotel also offers excellent facilities including wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Garden Court Eastgate Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing