We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not ideal for tourists but fine for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Not ideal for tourists but fine for business”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

The Mercure Hotel in Midrand is ideally situated for anybody needing to go to Gallaghar Estate. It's just a short drive (some even walked) from the hotel to the conference and exhibition centre. I wouldn't recommend it to tourists though as its far away from the tourists sites and in the middle of a business area. Was very impressed when I saw that the hotel contributes to the planting of a tree if you re-use your towls for 3 days by hanging it up. Big was my disappointment when I found that even if you hang up your towls, they still replace them. Duh?!?!? What's the use? Another problem is that they have no swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    44
    30
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
20
13
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

A good hotel with decent breakfasts. Had a great view. But service was a bit spotty. Depended on who was working at the front desk. Rooms are average to small (at least the one we had). More of a business hotel than a tourism one. Efficiency seems to be top priority.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goboy776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

The hotel is located in Midrand, a modern small city with a central business district located between Jo'burg and Pretoria. It is located in a safe area with some shops around (petrol station opposite, Pizza Express, Restaurants etc.). The staff was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. As we booked a very special online rate we did not expect so much. But the rooms were clean, adequate, a lot of TV channels, the bathroom was also very clean. We had no opportunity to test the breakfeast. However, the staff was very heldfull all the time, they did phone calls for us, reserved other hotels of the Accor Group etc. Overall, it is a good hotel with a excellent price rate in a safe area. They have also own (safe) parking facilities.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank frawey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

1. Is in the middle of no where, taxis prices in the hotel are double or triple, when if you keepa number from another taxi is so much cheaper and nicer service.

2. The receptionist people are soo not happy to help you, they try to do what you ask but they put long faces, the service is not tipppicak for the Mercure hotels.

3. We arrived late and in the final of the world cup, they put us in this disable room with no working heater, so it was sooo cold, the next day we ask to be mooved and again long faces but we got another room with heater "working" but still cold and with lost of noise because is on the first floor.

4. WE ask non smoking and the pillows smell smoke same as carpet, there is NO ROOM SERVICE, there is nooo restaurants around that are open after 10pm but McDonalds.

In my opinion and experience with MErcure hotels , this one was TERRIBLE,

I don't recommend it at all!! (better to stay in a lodge if all hotels in Jobourg are booked)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

We stayed at the Mercure Midrand while I was scheduled to speak at a conference being held at Gallagher Estate. The hotel is very convenient to the conference center, but that is about all one can say positively about its location. This is not a place for tourists.

The hotel itself was clean, the staff was very friendly and efficient, and breakfast was terrific (though the machine coffee left something to be desired).

Midrand is just not a tourist area. There are only about 4 restaurants within safe walking distance of the hotel and not a lot to do if you're not in the area on business.

If you do have business in the area, this is a solid, inexpensive place to stay with a staff that makes you feel welcome.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CCarrnDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2007

Travellers be careful. I recently dropped a colleague at the hotel after a meeting and was immediately impressed with what I saw. So with my next visit to Johannesburg (Midrand) I promptly requested to be booked into the Mercure through my travel agent. However, they have a pre-payment policy in place and my travel agent neglected to inform me about it or to arrange for the required deposit. Fine this was an error on the side of the travel agent. What was disconcerting was that the staff at the hotel was not prepared to consider any alternatives and basically forced me in so many words to sleep in my car. This despite the fact that my company is a multi-national employing more that 20 000 staff - the payment would've been good. Fortunately I managed to change my flight and could head home. It is poor customer service in the EXTREME from this institution. Please be aware as I'm sure the treatment I received will spill over into many other areas of their service. Stay clear!!!

  • Disliked — The Poor customer service and unhelpful staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2005

I recently stayed at the Mercure hotel Midrand for three weeks. The room was smallish, certainly by American standards, but my local colleague took a look at my room and said it was tiny as well, so I suppose its not the norm.

The room has a fridge and a TV with 13 channels - BBC World yes, CNN no. A couple of movie channels helped.

Breakfast was decent - continental for the most part, but with a cook on hand for omelets and such. They also had a typical South African dish everyday - sorghum porridge, koeksisters, milk tarts or some such.

There's an attached shopping center with a pub, a seafood restaurant, an Italian restaurant and a couple of fast food joints.

This hotel used to be a Best Western once and must have undergone a name change at some point since the credit card machine still says Best Western

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
11.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#44 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
11.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
17.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
22.3 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#37 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#6 of 10 in Midrand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Property: Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Address: Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the business district, 30 minutes from OR Tambo international airport, 20 minutes from Sandton Convention Centre, within walking distance of the Gallagher Estate, the biggest conference centre in the southern hemisphere. 92 comfortable airconditioned rooms, secure outdoor parking. Pay shuttle service on request. 24 hour security. The restaurant is open from Monday to Friday (6.30 a.m.-10.30 a.m.) and on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays (7.00 a.m.-11.00 a.m.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Accor Johannesburg Midrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing