We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, Friendly, Business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 2 December 2007

We stayed at the Mercure Midrand while I was scheduled to speak at a conference being held at Gallagher Estate. The hotel is very convenient to the conference center, but that is about all one can say positively about its location. This is not a place for tourists.

The hotel itself was clean, the staff was very friendly and efficient, and breakfast was terrific (though the machine coffee left something to be desired).

Midrand is just not a tourist area. There are only about 4 restaurants within safe walking distance of the hotel and not a lot to do if you're not in the area on business.

If you do have business in the area, this is a solid, inexpensive place to stay with a staff that makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CCarrnDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2007

Travellers be careful. I recently dropped a colleague at the hotel after a meeting and was immediately impressed with what I saw. So with my next visit to Johannesburg (Midrand) I promptly requested to be booked into the Mercure through my travel agent. However, they have a pre-payment policy in place and my travel agent neglected to inform me about it or to arrange for the required deposit. Fine this was an error on the side of the travel agent. What was disconcerting was that the staff at the hotel was not prepared to consider any alternatives and basically forced me in so many words to sleep in my car. This despite the fact that my company is a multi-national employing more that 20 000 staff - the payment would've been good. Fortunately I managed to change my flight and could head home. It is poor customer service in the EXTREME from this institution. Please be aware as I'm sure the treatment I received will spill over into many other areas of their service. Stay clear!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HenRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2005

I recently stayed at the Mercure hotel Midrand for three weeks. The room was smallish, certainly by American standards, but my local colleague took a look at my room and said it was tiny as well, so I suppose its not the norm.

The room has a fridge and a TV with 13 channels - BBC World yes, CNN no. A couple of movie channels helped.

Breakfast was decent - continental for the most part, but with a cook on hand for omelets and such. They also had a typical South African dish everyday - sorghum porridge, koeksisters, milk tarts or some such.

There's an attached shopping center with a pub, a seafood restaurant, an Italian restaurant and a couple of fast food joints.

This hotel used to be a Best Western once and must have undergone a name change at some point since the credit card machine still says Best Western

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitem se hospedar neste hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tcgamero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: os de fundo sao sem barulho
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurocwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
11.7 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#39 of 66 in Johannesburg
20 reviews
11.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
172 reviews
17.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#5 of 10 in Midrand
35 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
419 reviews
16.1 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#20 of 66 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel

Address: Old Pretoria Road | Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £31 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Midrand is ideally situated in the heart of Midrand's business district. This contemporary 3-star hotel offers accommodation at affordable rates and its comfortable rooms are perfect for travellers. And English breakfast buffet is served daily, and 500mb free Wi-Fi service is provided. Small meetings can be held in the hotel's boardroom -styled meeting room. The hotel is within walking distance of the Gallagher Convention Centre and a in easy reach of the Mall of Africa. With 92 comfortable air-conditioned standard double or twin rooms, with an easy chair, desk, satellite TV, telephone, electronic safe, hairdryer an en-suite bathroom with vanity hand basin, shower and toilet. One suite is available for people with reduced mobility. Paid shuttle services is available on request. With 24 hour security and exceptional service delivery our guest can sit back and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Accor Johannesburg Midrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing