We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has a winehouse and vegetable garden!”
Review of Ten Bompas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ten Bompas
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Sandton,South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It has a winehouse and vegetable garden!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Danie Potgieter runs this hotel with passion. His attention to detail is apparent throughout. There is a fairly recent addition of a conference centre and an up and coming vegetable garden. Organic, I think. The food is wonderful (fattening??) and delicious. Excellent pleasant service and things just work. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Gilda, thank you for sharing your feedback on Ten Bompas. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate your mentioning Danie Potgieter who has been running Ten Bompas so well for so many years. As you mention, Space our new conference and function venue is now open (all the messy building work behind us!). We have added a worm farm alongside the vegetable garden and have brought in large rainwater tanks for our veggies and gardens - looking forward to having a more organic offering! Warmest regards, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
37
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

From the speedy reservation to the friendly reception, this one night stay was a special experience as their attention to detail made a huge difference. The spacious Suite Nine with private balcony was clean comfortable and we received complimentary sparkling wine and note to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Staff was friendly professional without being annoying, we felt welcome. Highly recommended for a peaceful stay away from the CBD areas.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Karien, thank you for this feedback and for choosing to spend your anniversary at Ten Bompas, we were delighted to have you and your husband stay at Ten Bompas. Warmest regards from all of us at Ten Bompas, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel for a short stop over. We arrived late and left early but thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.
The rooms were fantastic, really spacious, very clean and well decorated. The breakfast was as good as I have eaten in any hotel.
Thoroughly recommended

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Neil

Thank you so much for your kind review of Ten Bompas. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay at our Hotel, that you enjoyed the size of the suite and especially that you liked the Hotel's breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ten Bompas. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Ten Bompas team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We love Ten Bompas, so it's often our choice for our annual wedding anniversary night out/sleep-over. And this last trip didn't disappoint.

The rooms are as generous and comfortable as ever, the service attentive, the extras (sparkling wine, fruit plate, mini bar included) thoughtful. The gardens are still lovely. There's also wifi now, and Nespresso coffee machines.

All in all, we had fun, and a delicious dinner (salmon tartare, vichyssoise, duck confit and mushroom risotto) served in our suite by the efficient Winnet. The only small disappointments were the sluggish hot water and below-par breakfast.

But we'll be back again. Probably.

Room Tip: This was our fourth stay and our second stay in Suite 5. Had I been more organised I would have aske...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Tiffany, thank you for visiting Ten Bompas again. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the extras that contribute to your enjoyment of your stay. We have also brought in Nespresso tea machines (which will now be available for those who prefer tea to coffee in their suites!) Our water is heated by eco friendly natural gas which circulates throughout the hotel. Unfortunately, and unusually, we had a water leak in the night and the plumber had to interrupt the flow resulting in a drop in a temporary water temperature and it took longer to warm. Happily the problem was soon resolved. I would be grateful if you would send me your contact details so that I can discuss the breakfast offering with you - please send to peter@mix.co.za - warmest regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only stayed here for one night but feel in love with all the finer details. Complimentary mini bar (with enough). Complimentary Wi-Fi access. The small fruit bowl when we arrived with the sound of music through the room. Details are everything and it was great. The biscuits and turned down sheets, to morning paper and a delicious breakfast. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable with a separate lounge area. Recommend the accommodation to anyone from travellers to business people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Lesley - Thank you for staying with us at Ten Bompas and for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the small touches that we hope make your time with us all the more relaxing and enjoyable. Warmest regards, Peter and the Ten Bompas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife and I have not stayed at the hotel but we have enjoyed both breakfast and dinner on several occasions in small and larger parties. We have always enjoyed the innovative menu, the attention to detail and friendly service.

In pleasant weather a breakfast on the pool deck is delightful and you have the option of the elegant dining room when eating outdoors is less attractive.

Somehow if there is a 'family occasion' to be celebrated, Ten Bompas always seems to spring to mind first.

Frank & Jenny

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Frank and Jenny, thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Ten Bompas on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stays and your meals at Ten Bompas. I would like to let you know that there are some changes afoot. We are changing the interior of the hotel restaurant and it should open mid June serving French inspired cuisine. At the same time we are busy developing 8 Bompas and will open two new conference rooms and a lounge and terrace overlooking the hotel's vegetable gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ten Bompas and to our new restaurant. Warmest regards Peter and the Ten Bompas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

First I must mention that I have been visiting Ten Bompas on and off for 10 years. And there has been a steady decline in the experience the last few years. The service today has been lacking, it was like it was our waitress' first day and that she has never waitered before. The breakfast was a combination of partially cooked mushroom, old looking potatoes and messy poached eggs. Asked for Dan the manager twice, still waiting... Could not in good conscience recommend Ten Bompas to anyone. I still struggle to understand that this kind of experience is acceptable in the current world economic situation.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AlwynVanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Alwyn

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent experience at Ten Bompas. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We prefer not to overcook fresh produce and we poach our eggs in a pot of boiling water with the result that they are not perfectly shaped. Nevertheless as soon as the waitress was told that the food was not to your liking she should have offered a replacement or taken the meal off the bill. This is a good lesson for us all and we have had a meeting with our serving staff this morning empowering them to do just that. I understand that our General Manager did ask for your telephone number - as he was out when you table concluded their breakfast meeting. Of course he should have attended to the complaint when he first became aware of it. My apologies for your disappointment but my thanks for the lessons we have learnt from this. If you do decide to return to Ten Bompas for another breakfast, please let me or Danie know as we would be delighted to offer it to you with our compliments. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Bompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Bompas

Property: Ten Bompas
Address: 10 Bompas Road | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#17 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ten Bompas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique hotel with Ten large suites located in peaceful garden setting close to the business and commercial areas of Rosebank, Hyde Park and Sandton. Also home to Winehouse popular al fresco restaurant serving French cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ten Bompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Bompas Sandton
Ten Bompas Hotel Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing