We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Rosebank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Rosebank
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Ottawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My visit to the Don was a few years back. I enjoyed the big rooms, the fact that there was a kitchen and I was within a short walk of everything I need (the Rosebank Mall, restaurants, movie theatre, etc).
If/when I go back to Joburg, I'll try the Don again.

Room Tip: I felt very safe here, but as someone who has lived in, and visited South Africa for a long time, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Don't be confused and expect a hotel - it's not. Don Rosebank is a serviced apartment complex with very large rooms, albeit, very old decor. The location saves Don Rosebank, as it's in a very-safe residential area, only a 3 minute walk from the Rosebank Mall.

Staff are ok nothing spectacular.
Will try the Crowne Plaza next time - this property did not meet my needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARealistic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inglewood, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Rooms are super spacious with kitchen and living room. The area is very nice safe and clean. There are two malls from walking distance (3 min. walk), African Market is located in one of them. You can easily use the metro line (Gautrain) since the airport to Rosebank station. You can go to Sandton and other nice areas with the metro. It is much cheaper than taking a taxi, which are not sitting on the street waiting for passengers. I searched for any info here about transfer from the airport and got mixed information. I searched on line and found a very nice shuttle company which I set a round trip price of $600. The company is called SafeShuttle4you, the driver was waiting for me on my arrival and got super early to pick me up for my departure flight! I exchanged emails with them and everything worked out fine. The hotel itself is very good and has an elevator and the staff is ready to give information out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilberto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

I travelled to South Africa for the first time in the company of my wife to attend an international conference. I did the booking through the internet and everything was okay when we arrived. The sitting room and bedroom were very spacious and well kept. All appliances were in good working condition and the hotel staff were well behaved and ready to help at the slightest opportunity. The only snag I had was the fact that free internet facility was not available- you have to pay for it which I found odd as this facility is now standard in most hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AB10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanalei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the Don Rosebank for 4 nights while we were in Jo'berg during the world cup and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It was within walking distance to the mall, in a safe area, and the rooms were HUGE, especially for the price. The staff was really friendly, they helped us with any questions we had and arranged taxi hires without any delay. The only thing we were bummed on was the bed, as it was two twin's pushed together to make a bigger bed and the bedding was sort of hotel 7-ish. Overall though we would stay here again I think.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murrrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

This hotel is situated in a very nice suburban area, and I took the taxi from the airport which cost about 350 Rand (7.5 Rand to $1 USD). My driver, a new immigrant from Zimbabwe, had a little difficulty looking for the hotel, but signs saying “rosebank hotel” led us to it. The façade is simple with steps leading up to the reception where service was straightforward. I was given a room on the first floor (Room 104) which was big with a large kitchen and counter. I did not notice any airconditioning but the room was not warm at all and if the windows were slightly open fresh air went in well (March 2008 weather was just right). The bathroom was small though with standup shower, and it was hard to contain the water because of the small plastic/glass partition so water would wet the floor when I showered. Hot water was quick and easy to control. The room was cleaned adequately everytime I left. The location is perfect since the hotel is walking distance to a mall which has great food choices, including a bakery with fresh stuff daily. The mall also has a curio/souvenir shop but prices are higher and vendors a bit pushy. But I felt safe in the mall and the hotel neighborhood was safe. There is money exchange at a far side of the mall, forgot which side but it gave better exchange than the one at the airport (bring your passport when exchanging money).I did hire a driver and car to go to Sun City and Pilanesburg national reserve which is about 2.5-3 hours north of Johannesburg, depending on traffic. My driver was 62 yo “J.R.” of the Venda tribe who was experienced and drove well, unlike my newbie driver from Zimbabwe from the airport. It is wise to get the most experienced driver to drive you around. The room also had a security safebox which was easy to program, and I left my laptop at the front desk with no problems. Breakfast was excellent with several choices including hot sausages and tomatoes, beans, and eggs can be cooked according to your liking. There was also quick room service, although they ran out of bottled water when I called. But the food was okay. Overall, a safe convenient location in a Johannesburg suburb, which probably would be perfect for small families and those new to Johannesburg. Note: SA very strict with having one page blank “back-to-back” on your passport for visa placement (I almost got sent home! “Amendments page” on USA passport not considered “blank”)

  • Liked — located near mall, great choices in breakfast
  • Disliked — porter did not help much with luggage
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JumpingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2006

This was a great value for what you got. The rooms were well maintained, and clean. the staff was very friendly, and helpful. Good neighbourhood, short walkt to a local mall (good eats and cafes there). We really enjoyed our stay there.... well everything but the tiny elevator (not made for claustrophobics!!)
Would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#27 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#17 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Rosebank

Property: Don Rosebank
Address: 10 Tyrwhitt Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Rosebank 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Don Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Don Rosebank Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing