We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy African theme hotel and restaurant across the street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy African theme hotel and restaurant across the street”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hotel
Tastefully furnished, 4 storey local theme hotel hence do not feel too commercialise. Ideal for family stay. Service staff are polite and warm although dinning service can be slow - in room dinning breakfast was delivered 30mins later than the stipulated time on my order, disrupting our schedule as we have to catch a plane.

Room
Spacious room with full length mirror. Non carpeted floor which is good for people with sensitive nose since carpet tends to worsen the situation. However floor can get quite cold so use the bedroom slippers provided. Bed is comfortable with a wide supply of pillows.
Open bathroom concept with room and bathtub/basin area separated by curtain. Toliet is separate by a sliding door which does not come with lock. Standing shower is in the toilet area with see thru glass panel visible from the room hence not ideal if you are staying with a roommate and have a need for privacy. US and UK sockets available at study area with 500MB complimentary internet. Connection is quick and instruction is easy to follow.

Supplies
Amenities provided but short of toothbrush/toothpaste and replenishment of amentities doesn't happen automatically (have to be REQUESTED). Noticed the shoe mitt box is empty upon check-in to the room so left the box opened for replenishment but it was still left opened and empty when I returned in the evening even though bottled water had been replenished. M&Ms chocolates, bottled still and sparking water, cookies, beverage counter (selection of coffee, tea and hot chocolate) with hot water flask. Noticed that there are expired items in the minibar so CHECK carefully before consuming.

Surroundings
Reputable restuarants in the surronding with shopping mall just next to hotel. Quiet and away from the buzz of the city area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    211
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
86
205
44
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Rooms are very nice, the location is excellent, but when it comes to cleanliness there is certainly a lot of space for improvements. At least the sheets on top of bed would be easy to check whether clean or not. Hairs on floor in bathroom at arrival show that the floor has not been cleaned at all. And shower gel would not be a luxurious item to offer at such price range. Lobby, restaurant excellent but taking care of the rooms is what counts in the Hotel business.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cervino4478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Cervino 4176,

On the outset, our most sincere apologies for the tardiness received with regards to room cleanliness.
We take cognisance of the fact that most of your comment is towards cleanliness and the terrible deviation in standards you received on your visit.

I take full responsibility for the incident and can assure you all areas of responsibility towards the TEAM were immediately addressed. We are positive we know the detail behind your stay already and can assure you that the matter was almost immediately resolved.

While this does not detract from your experience, your comments allowed a better experience to other valued GUESTS by allowing us to correct an area of the TEAM so easily avoidable.
We thank you for taking the time to comment and hope that we will through seperate communication to you see you back to showcase just exactly what we do get right, almost all the time.

Once again, our apologies and thank you for highlighting the opportunity.

Sincerely
Joe & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Every time I am in JHB on business, which is twice a month at the moment, I stay at Melrose Arch African Pride. It certainly is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff are wonderful and always remember you, and the service is always impeccable. The attention to detail in the rooms and hotel is wonderful, and you always feel like everyone goes out of their way for you to be comfortable.
Just an example of true hospitality is that I needed a dress steamed for a meeting, and I called house-keeping and within 5 minutes someone was at my door to collect, and had it back to me on time!
Well done to the team at African Pride Melrose Arch- it always makes me want to come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennabCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Jenna d,

What an amazing comment regarding the property and TEAM of the hotel. I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post your comments and allowing us an opportunity of recognizing brilliance from within our amazing TEAM of STAFF.

We can only hope we continue through out passion of our product and brand to continue delivering the service you so rightfully deserve...
We will hopefully see you again next month.... travel safe!

Our Very Best Wishes
Joe & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Spent the last night of a business trip a this wonderful hotel. Staff are friendly and efficient, facilities are great with spacious rooms, and all of this is a great area. Particularly likes the rubber ducks for use (I assume !) in the bath and the room safe 'hidden' behind the picture on the wall ... A little quirky, but part of the experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSL_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear RSL_1968,

On behalf of the TEAM, thank you for the very kind words towards our amazing hotel.

The number of short stories that make up the novel towards a returning GUEST is truly something we are very proud of. We have, over many years, continuously looked at ways of making every stay part of a fresh experience.

Noting from your comments and what drew your attention, we have no doubt you are an experienced traveller, and that makes comments such as these just so much sweeter... Thank You!

Safe travels!

Best Wishes
Joe & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed at the hotel on business. Whilst there was a slight hitch at the start of my stay (arrived early & no room ready after a 24 hour journey), this was rectified within 30 minutes & I was shown to my room.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable & quirky (rubber ducks for the bath & room safe is really funny), have flat screen TV with surround sound & a selection of DVD's.

Hotel is in a very safe location with LOADS of really good eating houses literally just outside the front door (The Meat Co., Moyo etc.)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Have stayed here several times on business and always enjoyed the atmosphere, service and attention to detail. Was transiting thru joburg with my wife and 5 year old son and we were blown away by what greeted us when we got to our room! A kiddies bed made up with his favourite cartoon characters bedding and toys all over the room .....a kids paradise. Thanks to all the team and the excellent GM Jo Segers .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinothegreekCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Melrose Arch Hotel this year. The experience was fantastic, from the friendly & professional greeting we received from the reception staff to the stunning, comfortable, world class accommodation. It must be mentioned that the food was absolutely superb, undoubtedly in a class of its own! My most grateful and awed compliments to all the staff at The March Restaurant, from the servers and hostess who attended to us that evening to the completely talented and fantastic people behind the scenes! We have recommended the Hotel and the Restaurant to many of our friends and will continue to do so! For first class accommodation, 'out of this world' dining and exceptional service, there simply is NO alternative! A first class Restaurant & Hotel, completely unparalleled in my opinion! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing