We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unequivocal one of the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at The Melrose Arch Hotel twice in the last two months. The first stay happened to be on my birthday. They made me feel very special. I booked a few additional rooms for my family and we had a wonderful stay over the weekend.

Second stay was really a pleasure too. They all remembered my first and last name - a winner for me. The service is very good and staff well trained in all aspects of the hospitality industry. Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Royboy
We truly value your patronage, support and feedback!
It was a pleasure to host you guys for your birthday, and am pleased to hear that the special occasion was enjoyed by the family!
The TEAM look forward to hosting you guys again – on your return, we have 2 spa vouchers at our partnering Spa for you to enjoy.
See you soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

The location is the key..! Right in the new developed area filled with all the chic cefe and restaurant within a few steps out of your hotel lobby..This hotel comes with free wifi internet,full mini bar,big comfy bed,tea-coffee corner,big bath tub,fancy portrait and so on and so on. Supermarket is close by,wine shop etc..If you love meat and wine,or even just seafood. You will love this place like i do..:)

Room Tip: Noprob even if near the elevator. Make sure go out to eat and tatse the wine from room service befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Yadita
Thank you for your visit and detailed comments regarding your stay!
We have the best address in the great city of Johannesburg – the pristine and luxurious Melrose Arch precinct has a myriad of activities to offer both local and international visitors from retail to café life and dining! The safety and accessibility of the precinct is central to any point in and around Johannesburg.
Next time you pop in, I would like to recommend some of our specialty wines for you to enjoy!
I Look forward to personally welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The African Pride Melrose Arch hotel is by far the best home away from home. The staff are well trained and one is made to feel welcome by everyone, from the doorman, to the GM. Jean-Claude, you have an excellent team! The chef's food is DELICIOUS!! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Monique K
You are only as strong as the TEAM around you – I am privileged to have such a committed and dedicated TEAM!
Thanks for choosing us, as your home away from home - we look forward to having you back, and preparing one of your favourite meals!
Enjoy your weekend!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nice hotel, very nice rooms. Clean, nice staff.

Review is based on a one night stay, but many of my colleagues use this hotel and it comes highly rated.

Very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front as they overlook a bar and restaurant area which can be noisy. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMajestyk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Mr. Majestyk2
Your comments gave my TEAM a great boost for the week – we discuss all comments brought forward to see how we can constantly improve our service delivery to all our valued GUESTS!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the night!
It is our pleasure to host you while visiting our beautiful country!
Please pop in to say hi on your next visit, and stay a few extra nights, to enjoy the hotels services and facilities in and around the area.
Safe travels – see you soon!

Best regards
Jean-Claude and TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I only stayed for one night. The hotel has got some nice touches. The rooms are spacious and the design is interesting. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gringo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Gringo71
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay! The Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct is a great location when visiting Johannesburg, we have numerous facilities, services and activities to offer our GUESTS in terms of business accessibility, restaurants and retail. Please let us know when you are travelling back, as it would be our pleasure to host you again.
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel for an overnight last week. Everyone is friendly and helpful. I'm gluten free and even though they tripped up with it, i still give them 5 stars. the reason is that the chef waited for me at breakfast to tell me that he messed up and ordered low instead of Gluten free. Many other places that mess up try and ignore it. I was impressed.

The rooms are fun and very comfortable.

Room Tip: not sure they have a "bad" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normanp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear normanp28

It was a pleasure to host you during your stay in Johannesburg!
Thanks for staying with us, and for your feedback!
Your comment has been addressed with the Food and Beverage TEAM. We are also in the process of changing our menus, and will be including additional Gluten Free menu items.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

As mentioned by others, the service here was great. The staff really goes out of their way for guests. The rooms were great. I got in late and there was a delightful plate of fresh fruit waiting for me upon my arrival. Do sample the wines, as they are amazing.

Of note, this area is very lively and safe, so venture out and about to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly_k222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear holly_k222
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us feedback - the positive comments have been passed through to the TEAM.
It was an absolute pleasure to host you - the TEAM are committed to providing a unique personalized service experience.
I am glad to hear you had such a great stay, and that you enjoyed the fresh fruit and wine at the hotel.
Look forward to hosting you again!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
382 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £100 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing