We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doing business in the city - the smart way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Doing business in the city - the smart way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

For a discerning businessman looking for a perfect balance between work and leisure, the African Pride Melrose Arch is just the tonic. Over the years the hotel's outstanding, discreet, personal service has made it easier for me to use it as the meeting place of choice in the northern suburbs of Johannesburg. At the slightest of excuses, I also use the hotel for leisure - what with their legendary breakfast offerings! The kids always love the treat.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the 3rd floor, esp those facing the piazza, are always a pleasure during summer n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebogo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Tebogo K

The TEAM are at your service!
Thanks for the "excuses" to visit - we always look forward to hosting you and the family!
On your next stay, the kids must try our new Belgian chocolate chip breakfast muffins they are delicious!
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    206
    57
    21
    11
See reviews for
85
204
43
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel hosted two events for Nike this year. One where we took over the pool area for a fashion show and the staff went beyond their call of duty to assist us with set up and smooth running of the show. Big ups to the chef for catering for all our hungry guests and getting the delicious food out in time with our very tight schedule. Our second event we made use of the boardroom and auditorium facilities... great tech staff on site at all times which really helped us non tech savvy presenters. Again...super service, tasty treats and perfect location for all our guests to find!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Stef G

Thanks for the 5 stars!
On your next visit, we will aim for the swoosh as well!
The TEAM were really excited to get your excellent feedback regarding our cuisine, service and amazing conference facilities.
We look forward to many more events in the future!
Best regards

Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Nothing particularly stand out, but my experience here met expectations and seemed like decent enough value for the money.

Front desk staff were clearly not trained to a Western standard of 5 star service; and the restaurant staff don't communicate well and seem to be running around confused most of the time. We joked that in order to get coffee brought over, you needed to order it three times.

The rooms were clean, service was prompt and efficient, and the facility was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertGrunnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Robert Grunnah

I am meeting with my TEAM this morning to address your valued feedback.
We will revisit all communication and service training throughout the hotel.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back, and ensuring that you have an excellent authentic experience.
On your return we would love to arrange a tour to some of our beautiful cultural, and historical sites.
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us!
Travel well!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Took a friend to Melrose Arch for her birthday, and have to say the stay was not what one would expect from a 5 star luxury hotel. The hotel was to full capacity, and the amount of staff could not cope, it was chaos at the pool bar, and pandemonium at breakfast.

The hotel rooms were okay, quirky and weird, but you could not complain at the size or the amenities. We were shown to our room, and the porter did little to show us the operations of the TV, or DVD system, and we had to ring for assistance later in the day.

We went for lunch in March, the food was beautiful, and the staff were really good, and brought cake for my friends birthday. The restaurant did only have two tables in, so we were well looked after.

In the afternoon we went to the pool deck, and there was a party taking place, and only two bar staff. The area was not well cleaned, the staff had no chance to clean glasses or move anything, so it looked very unkept. We waited a while and eventually were served a very boring strawberry Daquiri, in a plastic glass (no problem, it was the pool area) with not even a slice of any garnish, and it could quite easily have been served as a cold drink.

The following morning, breakfast was just a complete grab what you could from cutlery, to food to a waitress etc. I asked where the bacon was to a chef, and was told sorry you order from the waitress?? Then the waitress said" no you get it yourself" she took my order after i told her that was contradictory to what the kitchen staff had told me, anyway it turned up 30 mins later. My friend had finished her food, much before mine had arrived. All the hot food etc was buffet style?? odd, very odd, that if you wanted an eggs benedict, or just bacon, it was waiter service, with not enough waiters!
We were up and down, stealing butter from empty tables, knives and try to get a second coffee was near on impossible, needless to say, not what you expect for a leisurely sunday breakfast. to be honest it was really really poor, food not hot when it arrived, long waits, just awful. we actually felt sorry for the few waiters we could see, they were running around like idiots.

Mr Manager, don't fill the rooms if you have not enough staff to cope! it really is not fair to your clients who are paying for 5 star service, we would have been better going to Wimpy for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Karen H

My TEAM were extremely disappointed to hear of your poor service experience at our beautiful hotel.
This by no means reflects what we represent, or set out to deliver.
Each of your points will be addressed in detail with my TEAM. Please have my personal assurance that this has received the immediate and urgent attention it deserves. On behalf of the TEAM - please accept our sincere apologies for your experience.
I will also personally be in touch with you to discuss in detail your stay, and arrange to have you back to experience what we set out to deliver “a passionate sense of style and service”
I would love to host you again to ensure your stay reflects our philosophy.
I look forward to being in touch my email address is: gm@melrosearchhotel.com
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

First let me say I visited in June, so I did not have the opportunity to use the pool or really the nice outdoor patio / lounge area due to the weather. The hotel is very nice, trendy and upscale. For women travelers it is located in the safest part of Johannesburg from what every person told me. There are a LOT of restaurants and retail shops in the same area where you can also walk alone and feel safe.
The hotels at the room are well appointed and the separate jazcuzzi tub is very nice to unwind after a long day. The shower is a rain shower head and also very nice. The actual hotel size is smaller than you would experience in the U.S. but unless you are spending a lot of time in your room it serves the purpose. I did not eat at any of the hotel food venues or the bar area due to the many other food options within the Melrose Arch area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosassyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Twosassyk
Visit us in summer – the poolside is amazing!
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities in our beautiful hotel and on the Melrose Arch Precinct!
By design we aim to deliver the ultimate urban luxurious experience.
We do offer a number of room types which vary in size ranging from 29 to 50 square meters upgrades are available upon request.
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us!
I Look forward to hosting you again, and personally welcoming you back!
Safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in March either side of a Safari. The hotel is lovely, very clean, nice spacious rooms and a good breakfast selection. The only downside to our stay here was on check in the hotel wanted to take photocopies of our credit cards for room guarantee as their machine wasn't working. I expressed the fact that I wasn't happy with this due to the security risk of our card details just lying about in reception and about ten different staff members appeared, none of whom seemed to understand why! By coincidence the customer service manager introduced herself to me as this was going on and I explained the situation to her at which she just walked off without comment, I wish I could remember her name to write here - awful service! Apart from this though, it is a great hotel, in a very safe area and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Charmania

Thank you for staying with us, the TEAM are delighted to be your hosts while visiting our beautiful country!
Our TEAM's philosophy is to take care of all your needs and requirements from your point of arrival through to departure.
We clearly let ourselves down, it is not the norm at the hotel; what we stand for, or set out to deliver.
Please accept my sincere apologies for this experience, since your stay in March, we have revisited our service standards and gone through an extensive service training program. On this note we would be honoured to invite you back.
Please can you mail me directly on gm@melrosearchhotel.com
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is perfect for a stopover in Johannesburg. It is conveniently located about 20 minutes from the airport and has many shops and restaurants right outside.

On arrival staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable, spacious and stylish. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom had a shower and a free standing bath.

There is a good variety of shops and restaurants nearby and the library bar in the hotel was nice for an evening drink.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Africabat

Thank you for staying with us!
The Hotel and Melrose Arch Precinct is one of JHB's top destinations - as you have highlighted it offers everything one would need when travelling to JHB.
Amazing location, Excellent cuisine, Awesome Hotel, Endless shopping
We can't wait to have you back!

Best regards

Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing