We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxuriously Hip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is a truly fun and fabulous hotel! The decor and scene are hip, modern and African. Check-in was a pleasure, which included an interesting conversation on current events in SA with David while he got us situated. The hotel staff in general is welcoming and warm. The rooms are beautifully decorated and QUIET, even on the first floor. The breakfast is not included but well worth springing for - everything delicious imaginable including oysters! The area around the hotel is completely safe and reminiscent of a European pedestrian shopping/restaurant zone, including acres of convenient underground parking. If you want to take a day or two to gently ease into SA before heading further out, you couldn't pick a softer and cooler landing spot. My only comment would be for the hotel to streamline check-out. It took quite a long time and should be better organised in advance. For those looking for a spa or exercise facilities, the hotel has arrangements with venues within walking distance and there is a pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Januschka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Januschka L
The TEAM really enjoyed reading about your experiences and the fact that you had such a cool landing spot!
Thank you for your brilliant feedback, and for staying with us!
We will review our check out process, to ensure that any delays are worked out.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Without a doubt this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
Ultra modern and filled with the most beautiful artwork and then staffed by the most professional and friendly people.
The hotel is full of surprises everywhere you look. The rooms are large clean on modern.
The maintenance and care taken by the staff have given the impression of a 2-3 yo hotel. In fact it was opened in 2003The only hotel that I know that offers freshly opened oysters for BREAKFAST! The rest of the food and presentation was stunning. 10/10 from me

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear CanberraTell
Without a doubt one of the best comments we have reviewed!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent feedback – the TEAM really appreciate the kind words!
We can’t wait to surprise you on your return - safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my wife's birthday and I was pleasantly surprised by the modern and fun decor, friendly staff and great location for shopping and dining.
The rooms are clean and has great bathrooms - all the decor is carefully selected to create a "loft style" apartment with some tasteful African nuances thrown in.
Being part of Melrose Arch places the hotel close to some fantasctic shopping experiences as well as a wide variety of dining experiences.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emile_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Emile_12
Thank you for sharing this wonderful memory with us!
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the myriad of activities that the Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct has to offer!
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Clearly whoever gave this place 5 stars has never stayed at a true 5-star chain or Asian high end luxury hotel (e.g. Ritz, St. Regis, Mandarin Oriental, Shangri-La). While the property is beautiful and quite fun (loved the lounge area built into the first floor staircase, try it!!), the service is quite bad. You literally have a bunch of people standing around yet cant make a decision on anything (which happens to be quite common in Africa). I would get a phone call at 6pm everyday asking if everything was ok, which I found to be quite intrusive (had the do not disturb light on outside). Several of my service orders were missed (e.g. never brought me extra soap, towels). Dont need the green and red mood lightning in the hotel (this is not a W-hotel people!!)

Also, there is no gym and then tried to charge me ~$20USD to get access to the Virgin Active gym across the street. Come on now, if I am paying for 3 days of accommodations, the least you can do is give me free gym access!!! The killer was on my way to the airport, I had booked the hotel mercedes, but they claimed it was in the shop and tried to give me a small 2 seater taxi came. Oh HECK no! Come on African Pride, you can do so much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_ALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear ndes99
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback.
I will personally be addressing all the points mentioned with my TEAM, to ensure that the shortcomings mentioned are rectified with the necessary training.
The TEAM will be very disappointed to hear that we did not deliver an exceptional experience, we will however revisit our service standards to ensure on your return we exceed your expectations.
I would love to personally be in touch, my email address is gm@melrosearchhotel.com to discuss your stay in more detail.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincere regards
Jean-Claude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for one night after a safari and was really impressed with this hotel! Fun and funky and in a great location. Great room with a few DVDs and awesome tub and bathroom. We walked around Melrose Arch and had some wine at Winesense and dinner at Moyo, both were great. Finished the night with a few drinks at the hotel bar in front of the fireplace which was really nice. The breakfast spread the next morning was nothing short of insane. Champagne, oysters, tons of options for a super reasonable price. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Elisabeth24
The TEAM are really pleased to hear that you had such a memorable experience in South Africa and at our beautiful Hotel!
From your feedback – I could not have given your vacation a better scripted ending, than drinks at our Library Bar fire place, and our famous Champagne breakfasts!
Thank you for staying with us – we can’t wait to host you again!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Really surprising in every way, the African theme is done very tastefully and we looked forward to coming home to this hotel every day. We sat outside in the sun with the in-pool chairs and sipped cocktails with friends or lay in the cabanas and ate but just loved it. Breakfast was outstanding too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Jono C
Thank you for coming home to us everyday!
The TEAM really appreciated your comments – we opened our new March Restaurant in February this year and cannot wait to host you, upon your return!
We have kept your place in the sun – see you soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great hotel - beautiful rooms in a wonderful location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The entire hotel has a great, fun feel and is conveniently located next to shopping and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyRed005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear JimmyRed005
Fantastic, great, beautiful reviews are what my TEAM strive for!
Thank you very much for staying with us, we are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience!
Travel well – we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
431 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £97 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing