We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trendy and luxurious”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We started by having a drink at the bar where you sit with your feet in the pool! From crazy leopard décor to ultra modern design, this hotel offered a trendy alternative in Johannesburg. The location is excellent, with access to super modern and high end shopping, and the rooms are super chic - like a W hotel basically, with a very trendy feel. Don't expect over-the-top service, as no on in Johannesburg seems to be very service-oriented, but count on a super amazing room, location, locale and breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leilani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Leilani L
The best possible start to your summer stay at the AP Melrose Arch, is sitting barefoot in the pool with a drink!
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with us and for staying at the hotel.
We have just completed a revised service training course throughout the hotel, and would like to assure you that all areas have been looked into.
The TEAM look forward to hosting you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    220
    60
    21
    12
See reviews for
92
211
45
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Overall great stay. The decor was super modern and beautiful. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and every last detail down to the rubber duckies on the tub were thought of. LOVED that the safe was hidden behind a picture of a guy looking behind a picture for a safe. My husband liked the green lights in the shower area because he thought it made him look like the incredible hulk. We got a bit of attitude from one receptionist, but the rest were positively lovely. Also had some drainage issues with the shower that we asked the front desk to address, but we're doubtful anyone ever came. Regardless, we had a great experience. The hotel is situated in the middle of Melrose Arch, a lovely gated area filled with great shopping, restaurants and fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear MissyJ23
The TEAM wondered where the Incredible Hulk went to!
Thanks for the excellent feedback, and for staying with us - the Melrose Precinct is JHB's best destination. The TEAM are glad you discovered it, and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!
See you soon.
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

On our arrival reception wasn't very welcoming, noisy reception area. The Staff members were not helpful when asked for directions to nearby. No assistance with luggage, no free parking, lighting was weird especially in elevator and hallway. Nice hotel room but overall unsatisfactory service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fatima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Fatima A
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the feedback.
The TEAM were extremely disappointed to read that you did not have a great stay, all the points mentioned have been looked into and addressed. I will personally be in touch, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Have a great 2014!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is truly a good hotel in a very nice part of Johannesburg. Great everything within walking distance. Moyo's across the walkway is a must dining experience. The rooms are contemporary and well appointed. Very nice lounge and bar area. The breakfast was good too as are breakfasts in most South African hotels. The largest disappointment was that there is no gym in the hotel. As a business traveller who travels the globe, Ingot up the next morning, dressed to work out and was SHOCKED to find that there was no gym. The hotel has some arrangement with an independent gym but there is a cost associated with it and paper work to filled in....a hassle...so I passed and thought I would go for a swim. It happened to be raining that morning and the pool is outdoor. So much for that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabute2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Mabute2013
The TEAM were very glad to hear you had a great stay!
Please accept my apologies for the miscommunication with regards to the use of the Virgin Active Gym on the Melrose Arch Precinct. On your return please mail me on: gm@melrosearchhotel.com prior to your arrival, as I would love to personally welcome you back.
Have a great 2014!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

African Pride Melrose Arch is a world class hotel. The family room is wonderful and kids had more than enough fun. The movie room kids is amazing. There are many restaurant around the hotel and surrounded by shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solomon476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Solomon476
Thank you for the excellent feedback!
Our young GUEST's love the sound room - our movie selection is frequently enlarged, to ensure we have the latest releases and old classics available in our library.
When the family visit, with our child care services, mom and dad also get to have a break!
See you soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Booked at a good rate thru Agoda. Turned up shattered after an 11 hour overnight flight at 6 am and they were kind enough to let us check in straight away. Rooms are large and very well appointed. Only criticism is that we requested inter connecting rooms and were not provided with them. Breakfast was fantastic, amazing selection and all freshly baked or made. Maid service was spot on every day and you just can't b eat the location, safe and secure surrounded by fantastic restaurants on all sides. A great introduction to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arna42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear arna42
Thank you for the great feedback, and for staying with us!
Our ethos is service beyond expectation and am pleased to hear the TEAM lived up to this!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Pros:
- Safe location within a gated community
- Surrounded by restaurants including Ocean's Basket, Moyo, Swaad (an Indian restaurant serving - North and South Indian cuisine), and shops such as Clicks, Edgars and Woolworths
- Excellent breakfast spread with an impressive cheese platter with marinated figs/hazelnuts, fresh fruits, pastries, etc. What stood out was their willingness to prepare vegetarian food for us on request, including a full English Breakfast with sautéed mushrooms, avocado slices, veggie sausages, etc.
- Private breakfast dining area with plush chairs, vintage photography memorabilia etc.
- Spacious executive room with enough place to accommodate 2 extra beds for our kids, a sofa and 2 arm chairs
- Comfortable mattress
- Generous with toiletries, bottled water and M&Ms
- Friendly and welcoming staff members
- Chic decor in lobby with statement furniture pieces, including crescent reading nook along stairway, and a vintage shoe shine chair
- My kids loved the strange lighting in the lifts (obviously a question of taste - I was less taken with the lighting scheme in the lift and bedrooms)
- Pool looked great, with chairs and tables laid out in the shallow pool (a pity we didn't get a chance to use the pool facilities)

Cons:
- Very strange open bathroom layout: there's virtually no privacy whilst in the shower due to an oddly positioned glass panel, a curtain separating the bathtub from the bedroom and an inexplicable gap in the wall between the entrance and the toilet!! Definitely an awkward set-up when traveling with kids
- Service is not of a consistently high standard - it took the hotel staff more than an hour to retrieve luggage and laundry that we had left at the hotel whilst traveling to Cape Town, with repeated vista and calls to speed up the process
- Small screen TV that can't be easily viewed from the sitting area and is best viewed only from the bed

Overall, a hotel definitely worth visiting. It has left me with a positive impression on African Pride hotels, and I look forward to visiting others hotels under this marque.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akaur5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Akaur5
The TEAM were very pleased to read your comments and appreciate your detailed feedback!
Thank you very much for staying with us while visiting JHB - we look forward to welcoming you back!
We have a number of African Pride Properties around South Africa, each with it's own unique experience!
We are in the process of upgrading our Audio Visual in room offering, and have also taken note of your other operational points mentioned.
Safe travels!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing