We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service and fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great customer service and fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We ended up here as the fire and ice hotel next door where we booked was over booker and the chaos at reception was unbelievable. We were greeted with competent and extremely friendly staff with a yes can do attitude. I would strongly recommend a stay at this hotel for a relaxed and chic experience. Needless to say we will never go back to fire and ice Melrose arch as too chaotic.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Stefan G
The TEAM are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel!
We pride ourselves in service delivery, and are elated to receive feedback which reflects this. We cannot wait to host you again!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    205
    57
    21
    11
See reviews for
85
204
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frejus, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Modern hotel with good staff, no complaint about people.
But:
- we had a double room and both showers were flooding the bathroom
- those showers had a door opening towards the bedroom while the towel rack was unreachable on the other side...
- the double room were for us parents and 2 children... a dvd player was present in both rooms...with an "adult" one ready to play in the children room (the one that was prepared for them with smurfs beds and children toys)..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear franck m
Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback.
I have addressed the matter with the TEAM and would like to assure you that corrective measures have been taken.
Please let me know when you are travelling to JHB again, as I would like to personally welcome you back to the hotel my email address is gm@melrosearchhotel.com
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Melrose Arch is chic, modern, cutting edge. Loved this hotel. Fun, great service and an excellent location! I would definitely stay here again when in Joberg again. Rooms were large, & comfortable. Food was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Carol M
Thank you for the chic comment!
The TEAM are proud to have lived up to delivering a great experience - we are delighted to hear you had such an amazing stay!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Traveling for business...

I would definitely stay at this Hotel again. Great staff, always friendly, inviting and helpful. We were always greeted for breakfast since it was our favorite part of the day. The hotel lights show the true colors of Africa throughout the hotel, including the room. Turn down service every night and M&M's in the morning :)

Located in a great, safe area full of shopping and restaurants. Honestly you can't go wrong with an overall experience.

PS the safe is behind a picture frame on the wall...

Room Tip: I had a view overlooking the pool and the courtyard. Not much of a "view" but it was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngmeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ngmeckley
Our TEAM take great pleasure to ensure that you feel at home from the moment you arrive!
Thanks for staying with us, our breakfast is the best way to start your day!
We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights during December break 2013. When we arrived, our luggage was taken to our room for us and reception was friendly enough. The room was trendy, clean, and the bed was comfortable. We had a view overlooking the pool, which I would recommend. Little touches of the room were great- M&M's at the table each night and the safe located behind the picture. Breakfast was good, but make sure you get there before 10:30. They start taking all the food away exactly at 10:30. The hotel is centrally located in Melrose Arch and you felt very safe eating the restaurants and shopping at the stores in Melrose Arch. We sat the pool one day. The pool was very trendy -you can eat lunch at tables that are located in the water. There is also a deep end where you can take a dip. The pool boys weren't that accessible, as we needed water and had to ask several people for water before it actually arrived. We hired a private driver through the hotel to take us to Soweto and Mandela's home. He was great and explained everything we needed to know. We felt very safe in his car and would recommend booking a tour through the hotel. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel when in JoBerg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetsFan85x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear JetsFan85x
The TEAM enjoyed reading your experiences of the hotel and travels through JHB!
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel.
We are pleased that you had such a memorable stay - see you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

After my last awful stay here I wanted to try it again after the MD of the hotel assured me a fantastic stay the next time... I even had the MD of their sister hotel ring ahead to Mr McMenamin to assure all was well... I stayed there for two nights being the 19th and 29th April 2013. Again as part of a two for one voucher offer given by the Prokard scheme.

Sadly all was far from well... Many of the same reasons from my last stay sadly... Lets just say the room was filthy. Hairs in the showers on the towels in the beds... Laundry is always going to be a problem here it seems... Internet which was included in the room didn't work. TV would not work and the light next to the bed was faulty and was giving people an electrical shock when you turned it on...

I complained to the front desk and was told hotel at full capacity no rooms availaible. I then rang the reservations team from my mobile to book a room, and was told they had several rooms available... So the lies and non sense began.

I contacted the MD Mr McMenamin given I had his emails and was even given his cell number in case of any problems and was told by text "My PA Zene is there, we have addressed all the matters and I have upgraded you to a room I have personally checked. All will be in order. Enjoy the rest fo your stay regards, Jean-Claude."

I arrived back at the hotel to move to the new room and was told there was no room to be moving to, and the front desk knew nothing about this.... I returned to me room to have two long dark brown hairs on the freshly laid towels in the room.. I had arrived late to the hotel so I rang downstairs to ask if Zene was still in the hotel. I was told she was so I went downstairs only to bump in Zene and a gentleman caller n the lift on the way to reception, both looking very worse for wear. I hoped they had been sleeping but it is not relevant. She was in the hotel and then tried to address the issues but after almost an hour of simply wanting a clean room Zene inspected three and I was left right where I was the night before. I will say I did over hear that the room had been used by Zene but I could not care less if this was true of not... I should not have needed another room. The one I was given should have been to the appropriate level of cleanliness and safety.

I think if you are able to put up with getting hair in your sheets and pubic hairs on your towels - which you notice as you dry your face - and like electrical shocks when you turn on the lights, this is the hotel for you. Personally if you put five stars up on your front door... You need to get the basics right. Cleanliness is not optional in a hotel... Basic electrical issues are not acceptable in my opinion.

It also sadly speaks to how a hotel is run when senior management tell a guest they will do one thing and then do not do anything at all. It is not a five star treatment but it comes with a five star bill thats for sure! R3000 a night is not small change and given the cleanliness issues and the basic electrical items safety in the room... I personally am not sure it is worth it!!

Room Tip: It is important as guests that we get what we pay for. Check your room is clean. Complain to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Mr Watmough
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback; the TEAM look forward to hosting you again in February 2014!
As discussed, the matters where necessary, were addressed with my TEAM at the time, and corrective training was implemented to avoid any shortcomings in the future - I am positive you will experience an excellent stay on your return.
See you soon - personal best!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We started by having a drink at the bar where you sit with your feet in the pool! From crazy leopard décor to ultra modern design, this hotel offered a trendy alternative in Johannesburg. The location is excellent, with access to super modern and high end shopping, and the rooms are super chic - like a W hotel basically, with a very trendy feel. Don't expect over-the-top service, as no on in Johannesburg seems to be very service-oriented, but count on a super amazing room, location, locale and breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leilani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Leilani L
The best possible start to your summer stay at the AP Melrose Arch, is sitting barefoot in the pool with a drink!
Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with us and for staying at the hotel.
We have just completed a revised service training course throughout the hotel, and would like to assure you that all areas have been looked into.
The TEAM look forward to hosting you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing