We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My second time in a year at this property and it continues to be fantastic. Love the team at the hotel. The staff are just so warm, welcoming and incredibly helpful. The hotel has a cool and contemporary vibe with all the comforts and conveniences. I needed to use the services of the travel desk on several ocassions for various transport needs for my meetings. So helpful!

The rooms are really spacious and the bed super comfortable. Turn down service is provided, which is just a wonderful touch. Free wifi with connectivity to several devices. I just loved returning to this property at the end of a long day. The location is simply the best. Easy access to Sandton, Rosebank and other parts of Joburg.

Will definitely be returning to Joburg and staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear barca212,

On behalf of The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel TEAM, we would like to thank you for the sincerely-appreciated feedback!

It is experiences such as yours that we hope to offer all of our esteemed GUESTS and I am filled with pride to know that my STAFF catered to your every need.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share this feedback, it was our privilege to host you and we look so forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    205
    57
    20
    12
See reviews for
84
202
43
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms really big with wonderful bathrooms (BIG rain showers). Free wifi with (as far as I can tell) connectivity to as many devices as you need). Located in a modern upmarket shopping / restaurant area. So within 100 yards all sorts of places to wander round. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CaptainWillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear CaptainWillard,

Thank you for the amazing feedback!

I am delighted that you so enjoyed the facilities at our esteemed hotel. We aim for our GUESTS to indulge all of their senses while in our care and it seems like you really made the most of your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel soon and extend our sincerest thanks for sharing your wonderful experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

it's a nice hotel, in a great location... rooms are funky and interesting...
unfortunately the swimming pool was outside so couldn't swim as it was winter...
we enjoyed our time and I would recommend it.
very nice staff by the way...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Maurice A,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the unique and exciting design elements that make The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel the renowned establishment that it is.

I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay and that my amazing TEAM were able to exceed your expectations.

I hope that you will be back in the warmer months to enjoy our beautiful “Alice in Wonderland” themed pool area and scintillating outdoor facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at the African Pride on the business trip in April. Its an impressive hotel and the staff were great! I didnt have the pleasure of eating there unfortunately. The hotel itself is a bit overstyled, and I found the lighting in the room a bit wacky especially when all I wanted was white light to work under. That was the only let down because between the green lights in the corridors and the red, yellow and green in the rooms.....it gave off a "hanky-panky motel" vibe.
Saying that, as a business traveller it met my needs by providing a clean, comfy room with good internet connection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruz3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ruz3012,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience at our esteemed African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel.

One of the wonderful features of our rooms is the ability to alter and play with a number of different light settings.

Please would you be so kind as to email me your contact details (gm@melrosearchhotel.com) so that we can ensure that the light settings in your room for your next stay will be more conducive to a working environment.

We do hope however that you will take some time out to explore the remainder of the hotel’s wonderful facilities, including our renowned March Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

an exceptional Hotel and Ideal location , the right place to be after a long day of sightseeing or shopping.choice of eating establishments and there is a good club for the adventurous , centrally located ,easy to get to Sandton Mall and other surrounding areas.
staff are professional , rooms have Dvd's with a selection of movies + TV , relaxing Spa and perfect African Ambience.

Room Tip: request a suite ,if you like space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnverSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear AnverSouthAfrica,

A heartfelt thank you on behalf of the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel for your beautiful comments on our Hotel.

With our comfortable rooms and superb ambiance you are truly able to kick back and relax.

The location of Melrose Arch has been and still is one of the most pristine environments that Sandton has to offer and I am delighted to see that you received an opportunity to enjoy the shopping experience and buzz of the Melrose Precinct.

We hope to host you again in our true South African hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotels greatest quality are its staff and their unbelievably great service.
The rooms are amazing, the pool is great, the restaurant fantastic. Breakfast to die for, amazing location. Words cannot describe the feeling I have whenever I visit. They always remember you name and anticipate your needs.
You must visit.

Room Tip: Top floors, get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koshigatana_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear NYOIKE1,

I would love to take this opportunity to thank you for the incredible feedback posted about our lovely hotel.

As the General Manager of the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel I am humbled to hear our GUEST’s confirm what a phenomenal TEAM I work with!

Our diverse breakfast offering has been recognised as the best Johannesburg has to offer and we are delighted that you enjoyed every second of it.

Please allow us the opportunity of sharing our splendour with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel ranks amongst my top 5 hotels worldwide. From consistency service to unadulterated focus on total customer satisfaction, this hotel boasts qualities that every discerning traveller wishes for: attention to customer needs. I recently had the pleasure of accessing the hotel penthouse (again!) located at the rooftop. With spectacular vistas of the Melrose Arch surrounds, this well-appointed eclectic piece of architecture is a marvel and makes for a spectacular setting for a private function or even if just taking a break form the vagaries of life. Be prepared for a world-class service! Spending any time at this African jewel will make you even more proud to be South African...

Room Tip: When checking in at the penthouse, ensure that you have cleared your diary as you set out to sample...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tebogo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Tebogo K,

It is a true honour to receive the accolade of being ranked one of top 5 of the best hotels worldwide!

We pride ourselves in delivering superb customer satisfaction, intense attention to detail and we strive to provide consistency in our delivery each and every time.
It brings such joy to hear that we were able to provide all of this during your stay.

Our penthouse is one of our most treasured jewels and I am delighted you mentioned in such detail how it sets the scene for the perfect hide away to escape the hustle and bustle of the city life.

We look forward to creating many more remarkable memories in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing