We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$379
US$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg(Johannesburg)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peech Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$221
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Motel Mi Pi CHi(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$218
US$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
413
244
66
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
244
66
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelrose archlibrary baroystersm msrubber duckiessurround soundvirgin gymsurrounded by restaurantsgated communitytravel deskfabulous hotelsafe areabreakfast buffetshopping and restaurantsrain showerhotel is locatedrooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
637 - 642 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2009

As I said, our stay at the Melrose Arch was perfect. From Mike greeting us upon arival to Entebe (sorry if I misspelled) taking care of all our needs. People make or break a great hotel and at MA the people ARE the hotel. The hotel itself has a wow factor I didn't expect in Jo'burg. Big rooms with great baths and all immenities. Breakfast and the Library bar were just what the doctor ordered to start and finish busy days of sightseeing. Well Done!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJPofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We basically just used this hotel to sleep. We flew in on a Saturday night, after a very long flight, and left Sunday morning to head to Sabi Sand Game Reserve. The hotel, though, was beautiful and seemed to be a very happening spot. Our room was gorgeous and very modern looking. We ate at Giovannis right outside the hotel and it was delicious (definitely recommend that place!).
We had some problems with our credit and debit cards (they got shut off b/c we forgot to tell them that we were out of the country) and were very low on cash. We were able to get the credit card working again, but not our ATm card. In talking to the front desk lady about our problem, she offered to charge money to our bill and give us cash from the desk. She didn't even charge us a fee. Her suggestion and helpfulness completely saved us...we wouldn't have even been able to get gas b/c all the gas stations only take cash.
All in all, it seemed like a nice place to stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank marnibeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Great funky hotel...nice rooms....loved the way they have put the electronic safe! The location isnt the best....but not very far from the center of the city either.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Arriving in Joburg after a 14 hour flight it was wonderful to be taken to a hotel that made checking in so easy. Our room was spacious with a little balcony overlooking the square. The bathroom area didn't look large but we found it had a bath and a seperate shower. The little yellow ducks on the bath tub were a nice touch! Staff were friendly and helpful and responded speedily to any requests. Breakfast in the restaurant was good too with a nice selection of food items and, once again, great service. We only had one night at the Melrose Arch before heading to Sun City but I would certainly like to go back there sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainbowNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My colleague and I had a very enjoyable stay at Melrose Arch. The staff were always happy to help with any of our requests and were efficient and thorough. The concierge made dinner bookings for us at a restaurant we were told would be full, and for the exact time we wanted which was very helpful.

The library bar always has a great buzz and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The only drawback is the lack of taxis at the front door so they have to call you a hotel car which is nice (usually Mercedes C-class) but not always required for a short trip to the office parks nearby.

All in all a great hotel experience...we'd recommend it any time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel2LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews