We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a sense of humour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotel with a sense of humour”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Trendy Hotel with great sense of humour built in!

Quirky things like a 'day' and 'night' lift, trees in buckets in the swimming pool, M&M's in room, suberb variable lighting and candlesDVD 'hidden' collection, safebreaker picture etc.

Large, very clean room, super power shower and seperate bath, working desk with appropriate connections etc.

Breakfast was brilliant. Pleanty of freshly cooked food and cold selections. Plenty of freshly brewed coffee.

Location in Melrose Arch was on a plazza of restuarants and next to a large modern shopping centre. Easy access to Airport.

Only downside, while reception and porters were very friendly and helpful, it took 20 minutes to get served with a vodka and cranberry cocktail and one of the bar service persons was very rude and pushed both me and my husband on seperate occasions. No "please excuse me"...........

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crampneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    214
    59
    21
    12
See reviews for
88
207
44
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This hotel is Amazing! Travelled as part of a group with Virgin Holidays, and this was the perfect start to the trip!!! The hotel itself is fantastic with great facilities. Lovely pool area with plenty of loungers and chairs. (Free pool towels provided).
Very modern, spacious rooms, with open plan bathroom and good facilities. Very comfortable.
Nice breakfast, with anything you could think of!
Very friendly helpfull staff.
World famous Moyo's restaurant located just across the road from the hotel - this was a fantastic place to experience an African meal!
Great Hotel!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, pa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

As I said, our stay at the Melrose Arch was perfect. From Mike greeting us upon arival to Entebe (sorry if I misspelled) taking care of all our needs. People make or break a great hotel and at MA the people ARE the hotel. The hotel itself has a wow factor I didn't expect in Jo'burg. Big rooms with great baths and all immenities. Breakfast and the Library bar were just what the doctor ordered to start and finish busy days of sightseeing. Well Done!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJPofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We basically just used this hotel to sleep. We flew in on a Saturday night, after a very long flight, and left Sunday morning to head to Sabi Sand Game Reserve. The hotel, though, was beautiful and seemed to be a very happening spot. Our room was gorgeous and very modern looking. We ate at Giovannis right outside the hotel and it was delicious (definitely recommend that place!).
We had some problems with our credit and debit cards (they got shut off b/c we forgot to tell them that we were out of the country) and were very low on cash. We were able to get the credit card working again, but not our ATm card. In talking to the front desk lady about our problem, she offered to charge money to our bill and give us cash from the desk. She didn't even charge us a fee. Her suggestion and helpfulness completely saved us...we wouldn't have even been able to get gas b/c all the gas stations only take cash.
All in all, it seemed like a nice place to stay for a couple of nights.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marnibeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Great funky hotel...nice rooms....loved the way they have put the electronic safe! The location isnt the best....but not very far from the center of the city either.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Arriving in Joburg after a 14 hour flight it was wonderful to be taken to a hotel that made checking in so easy. Our room was spacious with a little balcony overlooking the square. The bathroom area didn't look large but we found it had a bath and a seperate shower. The little yellow ducks on the bath tub were a nice touch! Staff were friendly and helpful and responded speedily to any requests. Breakfast in the restaurant was good too with a nice selection of food items and, once again, great service. We only had one night at the Melrose Arch before heading to Sun City but I would certainly like to go back there sometime.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My colleague and I had a very enjoyable stay at Melrose Arch. The staff were always happy to help with any of our requests and were efficient and thorough. The concierge made dinner bookings for us at a restaurant we were told would be full, and for the exact time we wanted which was very helpful.

The library bar always has a great buzz and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The only drawback is the lack of taxis at the front door so they have to call you a hotel car which is nice (usually Mercedes C-class) but not always required for a short trip to the office parks nearby.

All in all a great hotel experience...we'd recommend it any time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel2LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
393 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Property: African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing