We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Service if you can Get a Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We did get a really good price for this hotel. It is in a liitle world of its own. We paid for a car to pick us up from the hotel with no problems. The room indeed cannot have any complaints...ok no complaints EXCEPT...we could not get anyone to really help us with a day or half day tour...going anywhere...maybe it was just the area? We still stayed with in the gates of this really nice, safe communtiy and enjoyed our 2 night stay. The fitness center was down the SAFE street and had a fee. It was the BEST fitness center I have ever seen...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2010

Booked into Melrose arch for the first time. Interesting neon lit entrance, reminds me of the lobby of the W in NYC. However the rooms are large, and tastefully designed. The interiors are definitely funky but provide a pleasant differentiator, from your average pastels found in any international chain which rarely changes from city to city. The bathrooms are big and open. The service is hit and miss, but adequate. The area around the hotel has a bunch of nice restuarants and strolling out for an evening dinner is relaxing. The Big negative : Having to walk out a block or so to get to the gym. There is no gym in the hotel and walking over to the Virgin Gym outside the hotel was a trifle irritating but manageable. They also have a very nice bar with open windows and a good selection of wines. The meeting rooms are excellent and well done. Overall excellent business hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Moved from Sandton Sun which was undertaking major building work, and discovered there is no comparison between the hotels-the Melrose is a superb hotel with extremely well trained staff (which unfortunately does not seem to the case very often in SA).
Rooms excellent and funky, Bar great, breakfast great, even able to work at laptop with feet in the pool at outdoor tables.
One of the best run and enjoyable hotels i've ever stayed in.
And if you're interested the Conference facilities and meeting rooms looked excellent as well

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotlight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We stayed at the Melrose Arch for one night at the end of our South Africa trip. What can I say - the hotel is excellent: ultra-modern, super-luxurious and just out-and-out cool! The rooms are really well-appointed with loads of quirky touches: rubber ducks by the tub, flowers made out of coke cans, and a glass bowl filled with M&Ms!

We had cocktails and a game of pool in the comfy library bar in the evening, which had a good atmosphere and was nicely busy. The hotel is in a great location in the completely safe Melrose Arch complex, with lots of bars and restaurants framing the lively square right outside.

The breakfast area was great and the food tasty, with lots of self-service choices and a table service menu of hot dishes. One slight irritation - breakfast was included in our room rate but we discovered on check-out that we'd been charged R30 for a glass of water my finance had requested during breakfast. Slightly pedantic and the only negative thing I have to say about the place.

We also arranged a tour of Soweto with the travel desk at short notice, which was no problem and the staff were very helpful. Overall this is a fantastic hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmasteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Rooms are really trendy, awesome lighting and styling. Food is great so far. Staff are a little arrogant... But that might just be the way South Africans are in general.... :)

Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
Thank jblaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Trendy Hotel with great sense of humour built in!

Quirky things like a 'day' and 'night' lift, trees in buckets in the swimming pool, M&M's in room, suberb variable lighting and candlesDVD 'hidden' collection, safebreaker picture etc.

Large, very clean room, super power shower and seperate bath, working desk with appropriate connections etc.

Breakfast was brilliant. Pleanty of freshly cooked food and cold selections. Plenty of freshly brewed coffee.

Location in Melrose Arch was on a plazza of restuarants and next to a large modern shopping centre. Easy access to Airport.

Only downside, while reception and porters were very friendly and helpful, it took 20 minutes to get served with a vodka and cranberry cocktail and one of the bar service persons was very rude and pushed both me and my husband on seperate occasions. No "please excuse me"...........

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crampneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This hotel is Amazing! Travelled as part of a group with Virgin Holidays, and this was the perfect start to the trip!!! The hotel itself is fantastic with great facilities. Lovely pool area with plenty of loungers and chairs. (Free pool towels provided).
Very modern, spacious rooms, with open plan bathroom and good facilities. Very comfortable.
Nice breakfast, with anything you could think of!
Very friendly helpfull staff.
World famous Moyo's restaurant located just across the road from the hotel - this was a fantastic place to experience an African meal!
Great Hotel!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Street, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £120 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing