We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing experience - we chose to stay at another location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we arrived from the airport loaded with luggage from an extensive trip and were surprised that we had to lug everything to the far end of the parking lot and up a flight of stairs. the staff member on duty helped with our bags but did not like having to walk through a parking lot to get to our rooms. the first set of rooms they gave us were horrible - they stank of smoke ( we requested non-smoking rooms) and one of the rooms had a foul smell that prevented us from staying there for more than a few seconds. They then showed us 2 more rooms which were non-smoking but had twin beds. the rooms were spacious but they seemed dowdy and old. the kitchenettes had old cupboards, the counters and sinks were chipped in places, the bathrooms were dark and had little air circulation. the air conditioning unit was a floor unit that was loud. we did not like having a patio door immediately beside the bed room - very insecure and did not allow us to open it at night. after feeling uncomfortable in the room, we decided to leave as this was our last night in South Africa and we did not want our trip to end on a negative note. Overall , we felt the hotel was a mid quality ( maybe 3 star) hotel and this was not what we were expecting. It may have been good value for money but we just felt it was old and outdated.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed for several days during business trip. The location is good however general security rules of Johannesburg are still valid here.There is a big shopping mall right across the street where there are good restaurants and shops. Holiday Inn and Hyatt Regency are also in walking distance.

The rooms are spacious and clean.It has a small kitchen if you'd like to prepare things inside.Kitchen includes microwave,small fridge, kettle,some cutlery..etc
There is aircondition but it is quite loud and not possible to sleep with it when it is on.So I was leaving it on during the day when i am out and had to turn it off before sleeping.Fortunately during my stay weather was not that hot.
TV is okay but channels are very limited.
There is a complimentary car park (big enough) as most people have to rent a car. Breakfast buffet is quite limited and same each day but you can still get the basics.Breakfast area is a small room with the possiblitiy to sit outside in good weather.
In the hotel there is also a small pool.
Another negative thing for me was having a smoking room although i had reserved in advance and asked for a non-smoking room.
Overall it is good,a basic hotel but not so comfortable and convenient for longer stays.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you are catching the Gautrain from the airport it stops directly opposite the Courtyard Hotel in Rosebank. This hotel group is consistenlty excellent. Fabulous staff and very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CapeTownDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in Johannesburg Courtyrd Rosebank on business trip
good:
- modern
- intersting interior
- central location

Downsides:
- some broken furniture
- area at night not advised to walk outside the hotel (so you need to have a car /driver to get around)
- no warm water in shower on 1 out of 2 days!
- good restaurant in hotel (Steakplace)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Good value with fantastic breakfast and large compfortable hotel suites complete with kitchenette

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAMLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I found the Courtyard Rosebank, a delightful Hotel to stay at. I found the staff always eager to help in anyway, possible.
Yes the "HAPPY HOUR" in the evenings was a delight. I could unwind, from any stressful situation that arose during the day.
I had friends come over, and we were treated like Royalty.The food is excellent, second to non.
I did stay there over October / November, 2009, and I am going back again very soon. I will be booking into this Hotel again !!!!

* The ONLY thing I would have to complain about was the Reverse Cycle Air Conditioner. It was FAR TOO NOISY, and I would suggest that Management invest in NEW UNITS that fit on the walls close to the ceilings. That way you would have more room, inside the room. The Compressor would be located outside on the ground away from other structures, thus creating a better environment, and enjoyment for ALL who stay there.

Apart from that, I have NO hesitation recommending, this Hotel to ALL my friends, and have done so.
If people want to be pedantic, they could come up with many faults in many Hotels around the world. But for my money, and the Hotels I have already stayed in, I have found that this Hotel, is like a family run Hotel. .... But this afterall, is MY opinion !!

Room Tip: Try for an Upstairs Room .... you get a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PARAMEDIC_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

the court yard hotel was in a very lovely area! the food was delicous and the staff were happy and always hade a everlasting smile on there face!! but the rooms were a bit dirty and there was a HUGE beetle in my bath room! but they were very well presented!! i would recommend the courtyard hotel to any one who would like a lovely relaxing stay!

Room Tip: not 6/7 TOO NOISY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miri123066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#23 of 67 in Johannesburg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#37 of 67 in Johannesburg
46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 67 in Johannesburg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Address: Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £86 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in prestigious Rosebank on Oxford Road, opposite the Gautrain Rapid Rail station. Major shopping centres, craft markets, restaurants and cinemas are all within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible to all motorways linking the key business centres in Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing