We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great happy hour, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great happy hour, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Get on the airport train and get off practically at the doorstep, just what you need after a long fight.The facilities are good, bedside lamp didn't work and a few little things like that but overall very well designed. It is a hotel that punches above its weight re service, people are very helpful and friendly. There is a great happy hour each evening...with free alcoholic beverages (wow)...and a nice lounge to sit and sip a well mixed G&T. The Rosebank Shopping mall is just over the road and has a Sunday African rooftop market.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35GillyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    77
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
19
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurst Green, Lancashire
Level Contributor
282 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

i stayed two nights at this hotel in Johannesburg. The rooms were very good, and the service from all the staff was excellent. Nothing was too much and they were so friendly. When i was at a lose end they were more than happy to recommend excusrions and were most helpful. The food (they only do breakfast but there are many restaurants right across the road) was very good too. Great hotel in a nice location

Room Tip: All the rooms have tea and coffee facilities and a nice little kitchette BUt really the choice and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Many thanks for your generous comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon at this hotel or another in the City Lodge Hotels grpoup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Staying at The Courtyard was just wonderful. The team were welcoming, warm, friendly and efficient and I felt really safe in the hotel itself.
My room was fabulous. It didn't feel like I was in a hotel as such as there was a mini kitchen and dining table and the room had more character than the standard 'chain' hotels in Johannesburg which really made a difference for my four night stay. It was also immaculately clean.
As a female on business alone I was a little daunted about heading out for dinner in the evening but there are plenty of nice restaurants at the mall/outside the Hyatt (which is just opposite) and a woolworths to get food (like M&S Simply Food) if you fancy a night in. There is also plenty of security in the area (even until late) and the security guard at the hotel can also come and meet you to cross the road which is so lovely.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough and would definitely go back if I return to Johannesburg in the future.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Gabriella x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Our stay was very positive. Helpful staff, comfortable accommodation and good breakfast to start the day. The bonus of a free evening snack and drink in the lounge. The position works well, just across the road from the Gautrain station, and the Rosebank shopping centre. No dinner at the hotel but plenty of eateries in the shopping complex. would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Motel style access, and if you had heavy luggage you would want to request a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLodgeJHB, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Many thanks for your comments about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon at this hotel or at another hotel in the City Lodge Hotels group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed there only one night in July 2012. But nice hotel in nice setting. Staff was friendly. And we had to take a smokers room (all non smokers have been occupied), but it was still OK since the room did not smell much.
Great parking possibilities.
The only critiques are a very slow check in process and an expensive breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypercube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks back and it was great value for money. Its very homely and the staff are friendly and nice. Its also near a shopping mall and eating places.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
177 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

A very well situated hotel across the road from the Rosebank shopping mall and close to the Gautrain station. I arrived at night for a meeting the next morning. The room allocated was very comfortable with a small dining area, a little kitchen in a cupboard and a lounge with a television. The bedroom was compact with a small television, and a very well laid out bed with cushions spread out. Very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was small with toiletries decorated on the vanity basin and nice clean fluffy towels.

Supper was a problem. The hotel used three restaurants in Rosebank to service them. The Grand Station restaurant that I ordered my supper from was really disappointing.

Breakfast at the hotel was good. Well laid out and with a variety of choices in fruit, cereals and hot servings. A pleasant one night stay, except for the supper!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.3 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#26 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Property: Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Address: Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in prestigious Rosebank on Oxford Road, opposite the Gautrain Rapid Rail station. Major shopping centres, craft markets, restaurants and cinemas are all within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible to all motorways linking the key business centres in Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing