We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irresponsible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Irresponsible hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night.

Our experience with the hotel was terrible. Our air conditioning was not working. Upon being informed, instead of a maintenance guy the receptionist sent a security guard who had no idea about how the machine works. While he accepted he told us that he can not do anything about it since maintenance people have left for the day. He then spoke with the reception and told us that there is nothing he can do and the issue will be resolved next day morning. Unfortunately, we spent the entire night in a noisy, ill working conditioner, which was followed by a nine hour long flight the day next.

We were shocked to hear such casual attitude from such a reputed brand.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank rkdubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that was caused by the air conditioner and the staff. We will definitely look into this, as we do with these matters. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    77
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
20
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a very quaint and well organised B&B hotel that offers a lot of freebies and has a very helpful and friendly multi-tasking staff-The rooms are very clean and well organised. It has a little sink and also a microwave in addition to the usual kettle and free tea & coffee in the room. The hotel is just vis-à-vis the Rosebank Shopping mall and a few footsteps away to the station for the Gautrain. There is a fair variety at Breakfast and the food was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aruvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Exzellent Service and exzellent Building. Central. Useful especially for relax, Sightseeing, bussines Ride. Exzellent Service and exzellent Building. Central. Useful especially for relax, Sightseeing, bussines Ride.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Holger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Spent 1 night. Beautiful gardens. Lovely rooms. Safe parking. Great service. Complimentary snacks and drinks every afternoon and a fantastic breakfast served. Staff very friendly. Will do this again. Thank you.

Room Tip: "D" Block, Ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've read all the reviews of this lodging and want to book for a trip coming up later this year. I will be travelling with my husband and our college senior son. No matter where we try to book (this lodging or another) none of the reservation systems will allow all 3 of us to stay in the same unit, even if it's a two bedroom suite - the systems all say "exceeds maximum number of adults." I don't understand why - in the US we can have a 2 bedroom unit where one bedroom is for the parent and the other is for the other traveler, but does South Africa not allow that anywhere? This is a special once-in-a-lifetime trip for us and we want to spend time together, not in separate rooms. Thanks in advance for any insight.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We do offer inter-leading or ‘family rooms’ that can accommodate a reservation of this nature. They're known as 'A non smoking Double inter-leading room' which is a standard room with one queen bed. En suite bathroom. Option to inter-lead to adjacent room Please contact the hotel and see if they can accommodate you with this. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here with my daughter in November. Everything was excellent from the welcome drinks on arrival, the well appointed, spacious and spotless room to the friendly staff and excellent service. The only draw backs were the lack of WiFi which was only available free for 15 minutes a day which had to be used up at one time or you had to pay for extra even though free WiFi was advertised and the lack of water on one evening (not the hotels fault as there had been a bad storm the day before). However the complimentary drinks in the bar every evening from 5 to 7 and the location just across the road from a shopping centre and the Gautrain station more that made up for any draw backs. The hotel is very comfortable and you can order take-away and eat it in the complete kitchen in comfort. The car can be parked just outside your room door so no lugging of bags and we felt very safe in the environs of the hotel which is important for two lady travellers. When we had to leave very early one morning the staff prepared us a breakfast box to take with us. The breakfast in the dining room is excellent with a choice of everything you could think of and eggs and omelettes prepared to order. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again if ever in Johannesburg again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Luland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Happy New Year - hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

From the lovely rooms, friendly staff, welcome drinks, and free drinks in the bar this was a lovely rest spot for weary travellers. It's safe and across the road is a shopping mall.mthey have umbrellas for the storms that hit joburg in the summer and you can order take away from a few restaurants across the road. They also deliver to your room which is good. Kevin the student who works in the bar was excellent friendly And great at his job. Management keep hold of him he is brilliant

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank justine140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#30 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Property: Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Address: Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in prestigious Rosebank on Oxford Road, opposite the Gautrain Rapid Rail station. Major shopping centres, craft markets, restaurants and cinemas are all within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible to all motorways linking the key business centres in Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing