We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

During our recent trip to southern Africa we stayed at this hotel on two occasions. We found the hotel to be very comfortable and in a convenient location (the Rosebank Mall is across the road with many restaurants and good shopping). All staff were courteous and helpful and breakfasts were very good with a variety of things to choose from. As an added bonus, the hotel also offers a happy hour with complimentary drinks in the evenings. This was appreciated very much. It provided an opportunity for the first gathering of our group, all staying at the hotel and meeting up for the first time before heading off in the morning on a road trip through southern Africa. It was a great way to meet everyone and discuss our upcoming trip in a relaxed and fuss-free manner. Our room on both occasions was spacious and very comfortable. It also had a kitchenette for self-catering purposes. I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravelsCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for the great review. We're glad you found our staff courteous and that you enjoyed the variety of breakfast options available. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    77
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
19
11
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from our first ever trip to Africa, and stayed at Courtyard Rosebank for the first 3 nights. Excellent location to begin safe exploration of Johannesburg. We were overwhelmed, as we are not frequent overseas travelers, and this hotel was everything we needed. Extremely friendly staff, good clean rooms, great bfast, pretty grounds and gated with 24 hour security, and best of all it was right across the street from a big shopping center (The Zone at Rosebank) that had restaurants, fast food, a tradition African craft market, upscale retail stores, grocery store, ATMs and the Gautrain station. We enjoyed the stay and location so much we were wishing we had booked there again for the one night we stayed back in Johannesburg after returning from Safari before leaving for home. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad that you enjoyed your first trip to South Africa with us. We're pleased that you found our staff friendly and were satisfied with the overall quality of the rooms and meals. We do hope you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I used to stay and the Courtyard often due to its great location and very friendly staff. However, my last two stays have been disappointing. The staff are fantastic - as friendly as ever and great with personal attention and service. However, the rooms are now getting really rather shabby and tired. I had a bed with a rather saggy mattress, a chair with a footstool that was frankly very dirty and carpets that were so dirty that my feet got dirty from walking around barefoot. In addition they have never done anything about the extremely noisy "window shaker" air conditioners and this means that you have to sleep with earplugs if anyone near you turns their aircon on in the night - it is really bad. They do not use fitted sheets on the beds and for the second time, I had a bottom sheet that did not fit the mattress properly - it was too small. This is simply ridiculous! Lastly - although I was in an upstairs room, a new sign has appeared on the sliding door (which incidentally is the only opening ventilation in the room) stressing that the door should be kept shut at all times "for your own safety and ours". This is firstly not very reassuring in a property that is gated with theoretical 24 hour security and secondly it means that there is absolutely no means of airing the room - other than the impossible air-conditioning!!!

It feels as if no money is being spent on the upkeep of the property and this is a great pity as it has a great location and really superb staff going for it. However, at the end of the day it is the quality of the actual accommodation that really makes the difference. It would be great if some of the bad things could be sorted out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magriet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We thank you for the constructive review. We have taken note of the issues you've raised and will look into these matters. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo Province, Mozambique
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the courtyard for 2 nights and found it to be a decent base for a trip through Johannesburg. It's in a great location, just across the road from Rosebank mall with great places to eat. We had a fantastic breakfast at Tasha's and it was the only café open at 8am on a sunday morning ! Unfortunately due to the construction going on in the Mall, the place is a bit messy and hard to find the right shops if you're in town just for shopping and the pick'n pay had to stay closed in the morning as there was no power to the mall. Fortunately Sandton mall is less than 10 minutes up the road and has everything you could possibly need.
The rooms of the courtyard were clean and well furnished and the 2 bedroom option is perfect for families. my only negative for the hotel is the evening we checked in, I was sitting on the reception couch with 2 sleeping children in my arms, when 2 scantily dressed 'ladies of the night' I assume, turned up as 'guests'. The man at reception allowed their entry after a short phone call to their requested room. I was disappointed reception made it so easy for them to enter, especially as they are obviously a family friendly hotel, and could see me with 2 children watching this happen, he didn't even pretend to protest their entry for my sake. I just hoped the room they were visiting was not next to ours ! which it wasn't and we had 2 great nights of sleep - lucky !! This would not put me off staying there again, however, I would choose to stay closer to sandton mall next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will look into the issues you have raised. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is great as it in very centrally located yet when you are there is seems very quiet and relaxing. Across the road is the Rosebank mall and many things you can easily distract yourself with. The breakfast at this hotel has options for everyone. I traveled through Johannesburg with a school trip and we had several students and the hotel made their conference room available for us to meet and we also had enough room in a triple room to gather as a group.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for the review, we’re pleased to hear that you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with comfortable rooms all with sitting rooms and small kitchens. Staff are very friendly, welcoming & accommodating. We were 13 people on a school trip, couldn't have been better. Breakfast is delicious and there is a great little pool.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the generous review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were so helpful. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Rooms are dated....cupboards are warped from water.
My biggest irritation was that the air cons made you room sound like it was In a railway station.
Big ancient units that are so loud.

House keeping banging on my door at 730am

Broken kettle

Had to find my own way and carry my bags to the room.

Not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinetic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies -we will most definitely look into this as we do with these sorts of matters. Please note that we don’t offer a porter service at this hotel. Thank you for informing us about the issues you came across during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.3 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#26 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Property: Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Address: Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in prestigious Rosebank on Oxford Road, opposite the Gautrain Rapid Rail station. Major shopping centres, craft markets, restaurants and cinemas are all within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible to all motorways linking the key business centres in Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing