We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Nearby Hotels
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
60
85
27
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
85
27
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgautrain stationsmall kitchenettemall across the streetbusy roadeasy accessliving roomconvenient locationloved this hotellounge areaself cateringafrican marketclean roomsroom service isreception staffcomfortable stayrosebankmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Four nights enables a traveller to assess a hotel with certainty. The Courtyard is just across the road from a Gautrain station making transfers from OR Tambo very easy. It is also right opposite the Rosebank Mall and Zone, so shopping and restaurants are on your doorstep. Rooms are comfortable with the useful kitchenette in a cupboard a bonus. Plumbing noises from adjacent room are intrusive, though.The staff are extremely helpful, from front desk to the maintenance man who helped me to deal with a jammed suitcase lock.Breakfasts were of a good standard with the fresh fruit welcome.

Room Tip: The further from the road the better.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_Cally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We thank you for the positive review. We're glad you found our staff helpful and efficient. Further we're glad you enjoyed the standard of our breakfast offerings. We will look into the issue regarding the plumbing noises. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

During our recent trip to southern Africa we stayed at this hotel on two occasions. We found the hotel to be very comfortable and in a convenient location (the Rosebank Mall is across the road with many restaurants and good shopping). All staff were courteous and helpful and breakfasts were very good with a variety of things to choose from. As an added bonus, the hotel also offers a happy hour with complimentary drinks in the evenings. This was appreciated very much. It provided an opportunity for the first gathering of our group, all staying at the hotel and meeting up for the first time before heading off in the morning on a road trip through southern Africa. It was a great way to meet everyone and discuss our upcoming trip in a relaxed and fuss-free manner. Our room on both occasions was spacious and very comfortable. It also had a kitchenette for self-catering purposes. I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappytravelsCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We thank you for the great review. We're glad you found our staff courteous and that you enjoyed the variety of breakfast options available. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from our first ever trip to Africa, and stayed at Courtyard Rosebank for the first 3 nights. Excellent location to begin safe exploration of Johannesburg. We were overwhelmed, as we are not frequent overseas travelers, and this hotel was everything we needed. Extremely friendly staff, good clean rooms, great bfast, pretty grounds and gated with 24 hour security, and best of all it was right across the street from a big shopping center (The Zone at Rosebank) that had restaurants, fast food, a tradition African craft market, upscale retail stores, grocery store, ATMs and the Gautrain station. We enjoyed the stay and location so much we were wishing we had booked there again for the one night we stayed back in Johannesburg after returning from Safari before leaving for home. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad that you enjoyed your first trip to South Africa with us. We're pleased that you found our staff friendly and were satisfied with the overall quality of the rooms and meals. We do hope you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I used to stay and the Courtyard often due to its great location and very friendly staff. However, my last two stays have been disappointing. The staff are fantastic - as friendly as ever and great with personal attention and service. However, the rooms are now getting really rather shabby and tired. I had a bed with a rather saggy mattress, a chair with a footstool that was frankly very dirty and carpets that were so dirty that my feet got dirty from walking around barefoot. In addition they have never done anything about the extremely noisy "window shaker" air conditioners and this means that you have to sleep with earplugs if anyone near you turns their aircon on in the night - it is really bad. They do not use fitted sheets on the beds and for the second time, I had a bottom sheet that did not fit the mattress properly - it was too small. This is simply ridiculous! Lastly - although I was in an upstairs room, a new sign has appeared on the sliding door (which incidentally is the only opening ventilation in the room) stressing that the door should be kept shut at all times "for your own safety and ours". This is firstly not very reassuring in a property that is gated with theoretical 24 hour security and secondly it means that there is absolutely no means of airing the room - other than the impossible air-conditioning!!!

It feels as if no money is being spent on the upkeep of the property and this is a great pity as it has a great location and really superb staff going for it. However, at the end of the day it is the quality of the actual accommodation that really makes the difference. It would be great if some of the bad things could be sorted out!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magriet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We thank you for the constructive review. We have taken note of the issues you've raised and will look into these matters. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the courtyard for 2 nights and found it to be a decent base for a trip through Johannesburg. It's in a great location, just across the road from Rosebank mall with great places to eat. We had a fantastic breakfast at Tasha's and it was the only café open at 8am on a sunday morning ! Unfortunately due to the construction going on in the Mall, the place is a bit messy and hard to find the right shops if you're in town just for shopping and the pick'n pay had to stay closed in the morning as there was no power to the mall. Fortunately Sandton mall is less than 10 minutes up the road and has everything you could possibly need.
The rooms of the courtyard were clean and well furnished and the 2 bedroom option is perfect for families. my only negative for the hotel is the evening we checked in, I was sitting on the reception couch with 2 sleeping children in my arms, when 2 scantily dressed 'ladies of the night' I assume, turned up as 'guests'. The man at reception allowed their entry after a short phone call to their requested room. I was disappointed reception made it so easy for them to enter, especially as they are obviously a family friendly hotel, and could see me with 2 children watching this happen, he didn't even pretend to protest their entry for my sake. I just hoped the room they were visiting was not next to ours ! which it wasn't and we had 2 great nights of sleep - lucky !! This would not put me off staying there again, however, I would choose to stay closer to sandton mall next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will look into the issues you have raised. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews