We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick business trip”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was my first stay at the Courtyard Hotel. First impressions of the hotel was the garden is well maintained and beautiful. Check in was quick and efficient. The room that I stayed in was spacious and well furnished. The only thing that I did not like was the smell that eminates from the "lake" or "pond" or whatever it is whilst sitting on the balcony. It is unfortunate that the business owners around the "lake" do not get together and do something about cleaning it up because it would benefit everyone. The hotel itself is very nice and I enjoyed sitting in the lounge overlooking the swimming pool and where you are given snacks whilst having a beverage from the courtesy bar. Although the hotel does not offer dinner there is a wide variety of dishes that can be ordered from the surrounding restaurants or you can take the shuttle to one of the malls to have a meal. Breakfast is good with a wide variety of dishes to choose from. Complimentary muffins in a bag and apples are nice if you want a snack for later in the day. My colleagues and I said that we would stay there again. Staff are VERY friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as those are upstairs and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The lake has been an issue for some time, but we're hoping that new plans will soon be implemented to reduce its impact. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    13
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
9
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orapa, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

the location area, size of hotel, staff,ulala barman, kitchen zonke reception and management are so convinient and very warm, i was on a business trip but watch e space i am coming with my family but the lake should be taken care of than to let it die, there they need environment care and conservation programme.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review - we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent 2 nights at this boutique hotel in Oct '13. Staff was pleasant and very helpful, lounge and dining area were lovely, and room was very nice. Surrounding gardens were also very beautiful. However, the awful smell emanating from the "sludge pond" behind this facility permeated everything, and was enough to make one actually gag. If you are tempted to book at this nice spot near the Eastgate Mall (great dining options are convenient with their free shuttle), be certain that the pond has been cleaned up!

Room Tip: Be wary of the condition of the 'pond'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review - Bruma Lake has been an issue for some time, but there are plans to sort it out; we hope this happens soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have been to this hotel 2 weeks in May 2013.
The hotel presents the following good points:
- The rooms are spacious, clean and provided with kitchenette for people who are interested in cooking light dishes.
- Breakfast contains multiple choices with a live cooking station.
- The staff is very attentive to customers and are very open for discussion.
- The hotel has a service of free home delivery from outside with an approved company which offers a large choice of cuisines for delivery right to your doorstep.
- The happy hour is also a nice idea. It takes place from 5pm to 7pm.
- Free shuttle bus from 7pm to 10pm to 2 nearby malls, perfect for a dinner plan at one of the nice restaurants at both malls.

The negative points are:
- The bruma lake is very poluted. Although the view is nice, when you open your balcony, you are sure to have an attakch of moustics and flyers by dozens. The smell is also a bit strong especially after sunset.
- The transportation fees to other areas of Joba are very costly if arranged by the hotel and the most strange thing is that the price is headcount based and not distance based!! We were very disappointed by this when we wanted to arrange transportation with the hotel. We finally decided to go with public taxi companies which were much cheaper than the hotel transportation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khalid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. There are plans afoot to redevelop the lake - so we are really hoping that these materialise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
294 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate my birthday not to far away from home. This hotel turned out to be a very good choice. We experienced this Courtyard Hotel to be spotlessly clean with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious with a fully equipped kitchenette. The rooms each have a patio overlooking Bruma Lake. If you are bird watchers like us, remember your binoculars to enjoy the prolific birdlife on the lake.
This hotel provides a very good buffet breakfast with a big selection of dishes, ranging from fruit, cereals, warm dishes and pastries. We also enjoyed the Courtesy Bar that they provide every evening between 17:00 to 19:00, where free drinks and snacks are served. Teta, who attended to us was very helpful and friendly and replenished our drinks and snacks regularly.
This hotel is not to far from the Johannesburg International Airport (OR Tambo). They also provide a free shuttle service to the popular Eastgate Mall nearby. There is also under cover parking provided right in front of your room.
The only negative comment we have is the ageing and noisy extractor fan in the bathroom.
We certainly will recommend this Courtyard Hotel to our friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks so much for your kind and comprehensive review of our hotel - come and visit us again soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

While this hotel ticks all the boxes that one would expect from a traveller, you are left with the impression hat it does nothing more and that it is really a bit tired and in need of a refit.

The hotel is well located with easy access to freeways and OR Thambo airport. The room is spacious comprising a lounge and bedroom but other wise spartan and not really comfortable. Quite frankly, I would rather have less space and a bit more comfort. The patio overlooking Bruma Lake and its bird life is a nice feature. The room and furnishings are pretty much at the end of their life and the linen somewhat threadbare. Maintenance is lacking although not absent. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water.

The one exception is the breakfast which was really good and the dining room small but well appointed.

I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your considered review of our hotel - we will certainly take into account the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
156 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were very well recieved by the all the staff. They were great and a wealth of information. The area is beautiful and seems quite safe. We didn't have even a hint of problems or ever feel uncomfortable. The people in the neighbourhood are very friendly and watch out for you. There is also lots of security both at the hotel and in most of the businesses and parking lots in the area. The lake is nice to look at but you have to keep in mind it is in the middle of a very large city so there is some garbage that has been washed down from the surrounding neighbourhoods. It is full of ducks and other birds and is very pleasant to look at from the balcony.

The suites are large, very clean and comfortable. We didn't make it for breakfast any of the mornings so cannot comment on the food, but the restaurant/lounge is quite comfortable.

The staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need and will always point you in the right direction. You can order food from some take-out places in the area or just go out to one of the many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments about our hotel and its location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - at this hotel or at another hotel in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.9 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Eastgate
Garden Court Eastgate
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 68 in Johannesburg
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
6.5 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#27 of 68 in Johannesburg
152 reviews
14.1 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#38 of 68 in Johannesburg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Property: Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Bruma Flea Market, local craft displays and Eastgate Shopping Centre. Easily accessible to major motorways and only 10 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing