We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is the first time we stayed at the Theme Park Hotel, for one night en route to KZN. We were pleasantly surprised at the warm welcome right from the Hotels porter, welcome drinks on arrival and a lovely happy lively Reception.

Our room was very well appointed, comfort and an excellent aircon, good bed and soft pillows.

The following morning we had breakfast and the ambiance was outstanding. The fresh flowers on the tables and the main buffet table were a very pleasing touch. There were newspapers if you needed to catch up on some news or perhaps the weather forecast.

The buildings were very quaint and the surrounds were clean and the gardens and plants/flowers were well manicured.

Overall a lovely stay and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear HappyChappie2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, your feedback is much appreciated.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I spent unfortunately only one night here. Checking in was fast and efficient, as was the check out the next morning. We were taken to our room where the porter first made sure that everything was in a working order. The room was lovely. Breakfast was very nice. Staff were all friendly and even the managers helped clearing tables. Keep up your excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OckertC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Ockiec4

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, your feedback is much appreciated - thank you for your kind words.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A huge thank you to Gold Reef City Theme Park hotel staff for their friendliness, eagerness to assist, efficicency and consistent efforts in making sure that we were comfortable at all times. From the carpark to the hotel room we were met with kind, friendly staff, namely Jacob and Job who also assisted us with shuttles to the casino complex to the lovely ladies who cleaned our rooms and gave the kids chocolates not forgetting the efficient front office receptionist Shirley. The theme park itself was an amazing experience for the kids who have made us promise to bring them back for another memorable weekend! I certainly recommend to all especially families with children, this was a stunning experience - one definitely worth repeating. thank you so much for an awesome weekend! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Shez34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Shez 34

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased with your comments that your children enjoyed themselves as well, as a Holiday destination it is important that the whole family enjoys the experience.

It was a pleasure to host you and your family as our guests and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014


Am so happy keep it up, the servive is super and the employees were so stanning. I do wish to visit for couple of days so that i can enjoy your dinner as well. Hope this service is given to every visitor . Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Helen M

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us at the The Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. And yes, next time please do try our dinner, I'm sure that it will meet your expectations!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family and I visited the theme park and stayed in the park hotel. We have been there before and will definitely go again. Staff are so friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Really relaxing and facilities are so clean. Warren

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Warren F

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My family had a wonderful time. The kids aged 3 and 18months had a lot to do and there was enough entertaiment for them. The staff were very understanding with the kids aswell as friendly. I would reccomed it to any perants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Heather M

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Wow! Exceptional service,cleanliness, and value for money! Do think the music in the bar can be changed thou! Cater for your patrons,not chase them away, the music is more suitable for an elevator or restaurant!! Really guys!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Anesh M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our Hotel - your feedback is much appreciated. We will certainly look at the music selection in the bar going forward, thank you for your feedback in this regard.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
460 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
9.8 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#18 of 67 in Johannesburg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.5 mi away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
8.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £96 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, bedfinder AG and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing