We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls night out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were a group of 6 ladies and we shared rooms. Check in was not so smooth I think they need to relook at that reception area. Staff was not so friendly.
Nice décor. The rooms were clean and tidy. I think the idea of having the theme park there as well also works in the hotels favour.
Breakfast was nice,but they need to relook at the whole setup and give it that warm fuzzy feeling..like you are walking into a restaurant..

Iam looking forward to my next stay there

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are the ideal ones for easy access.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Gold Reef City is an ideal start or end point for a South Africa family vacation when flying to or from Johannesburg. Depending on the traffic the hotel is a 30 to 45 minutes away from the airport. The hotel is situated right in the middle of the Gold Reef City theme park, embedded in the replica 19th century "Village". The Apartheid Museum and the Gold Reef City Casino are on the same compound and can be reached walking or by using the free shuttle.

The rooms are great value, as they include free entrance to the park and an opulent buffet breakfast (omelettes and waffles made to order). As entrance is free and you're right in the middle of the theme park, you don't have to worry when to go for which attraction but instead use the less busy times in the morning (most attractions open around 9:30) or later afternoon (just before the park closes at 17:00). The Apartheid museum is definitely good for half a day and the casino has frequent standup comedy nights and a number of restaurants, so worthwhile a visit even if you're not into gambling.

Our room was nicely furnished, had a luxurious bathroom with bathtub and a walk-in shower, a comfortable large double and a sofa bed. Our only criticism would be that the windows couldn't be opened (probably for security reasons) so you have to rely on the aircon, which is quite noisy. And while the sofa bed was sufficiently large to be shared by our 8 and 5 year olds, the room will be too small for a family with larger children.

The staff both in the hotel and the restaurant were very friendly and we truly felt welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms are located around a courtyard. Try to get a room further away from the entrance, else you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely setting, lovely decor.
Convenience of being in the them park is great!
The rooms are perfectly set-out, if you are a family, the family suites are fabulous!
The food at Barneys is really good and the breakfasts have a super assortment.
The service in reception needs attention.
There appears to a lack of urgency. No-one is in amy rush to please nor assist in a hurry.
We stayed here when it was a protea run hotel. One cannot compare the service levels to a protea hotel!
However taking all the other good aspects into account, we had a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

For that the hotel is located in a city, it was very quiet. Maybe also because we can not open the window. The staff was very friendly. You are picked up from the parking lot with an electro cars and transported by the hotel's own taxi to the nearby Casion. The king size bed is good and the room spacious.
Outside the high season, the theme park is actually not in operation. Therefore there is only one restaurant open, but in the casino you have more choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Emanuel B

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our Hotel, your feedback is much appreciated.

You are correct, the Theme Park is closed on Mondays & Tuesdays (out of school Holidays) but otherwise open every day for the rest of the year (except the 25th December). The Hotel, however, does not close at all.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very unique hotel rooms placed around little houses and buildings in the town area of the Gold Reef City Theme Park. Much cooler than staying in rooms just above the casino
Rooms had very modern decor interiors.

Although the park area is quiet, Not very sound proof, can hear ducks, chickens and other noises in the morning which some may enjoy.
The park is not exactly situated close to anything, so cab may be needed to get around, except for park/casino area.

Very good staff assistance for calling (safe) cabs etc. Since there is not much to do in Joburg after 5pm, we had very good rest on the huge king sized bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Sam W

Thank you for taking the time to complete a reveiw of our Hotel, we appreciate the feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience and atmosphere of Gold Reef City and that the Hotel met your expectations.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

From the gatekeepers to the reception staff, porters, shuttle drivers and breakfast staff, our stay at Gold Reef City Theme Park hotel was characterized by service excellence. I had just been abroad in Europe, then spent Easter in Cape Town and the service we experienced at Gold Reef city hotel was second to none. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well appointed. The daily breakfast was amazing. We were certainly spoilt for choice. The setting in the midst of the theme park was wonderfully quaint. We felt like part of a small community. My daughter was thrilled with the rides and entertainment on offer. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in JHB. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank MsBobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear MsBobbles

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter managed to experience the thrill of the rides!
It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My hotel room was a total suprise, plenty of room, first floor, my kids were definitely thrilled by the fact that they have their own room & a balcony. This was really a nice gesture, thank you guys!! Hope to see you soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Nokuthula Chyn... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Nokuthula Chyn...S

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience of staying at the Theme Park Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
2.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.2 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
8.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £93 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing