We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good for business stays” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not good for business stays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

If on holiday this would be a good place to stay for a Theme park - but if you are looking for a hotel close to Nasrec Exhibition Centre and staying for business reasons, you may find better suited. Staff were friendly and rooms clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Hylton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Hylton M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel.

We have a variety of dining and accommodation options on offer at Gold Reef City so you may want to try the Southern Sun Gold Reef City (based at the Casino) for your next corporate stay. For a wonderful family experience,however, we agree that the Theme Park Hotel is a unique offering and is unrivaled in Gauteng as far as kids entertainment is concerned.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back to Gold Reef City again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    140
    38
    24
    20
See reviews for
260
91
4
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mbabaneswaziland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

very good welcome, excellent air conditioning rooms, free internet @ all rooms, wonderful enjoyable family playing gadgets in the surroundings.to me everything was superb. Not that it was my first time in a hotel, I "ve travelled almost 70% of African states.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PetrosMbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear PetrosMboingo

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for 2 nights at gold reef theme park hotel. ..warm welcome and most importantly we were given room at the ground floor..guess there are no lifts for the rooms at the first floor which makes me write that. ..Breakfast was outstanding on Sunday which was 3rd August 14...fresh breads with variety of home made muffins added a cherry on the cake...which hotel offers hot chocolate milk to its guests? This one offered. ..what a brilliant gesture in cold winters....

Park has some world class rides...barring a couple queue wasn't long and one could patiently wait for his/her turn

The only aspect I didn't appreciate is an expensive cab they arrange for your drop at the airport...It is not metered and since they don't allow usual cabs to enter the hotel compound one is left with no other choice but to take one from them....a ride of just 20 mins costs you 400 rands...i felt cheated on that front and would recommend visitors to make note of this

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was literally my weekend from hell. If you call to make a booking, dont ever deal with Cindy as she is cold and unhelpful. Rather deal with Moshale who is extremely competent. I was not recognised as a loyalty Platinum member. My kids didnt receive their Sun Kids boxes that they are accustomed to at Tsogo Hotels. Turn down service was non existent with unfriendly cleaners who treated us like they were doing us a favour. I called for my room to be refreshed 3 times on the first night and it still didnt happen. There is no sense of urgency with any staff. I left my room at 11am the next morning only to return at 2pm to find my room uncleaned. I had to walk in my pyjamas to another room on Sunday morning as I had no hot water. Sadly this is a stunning location for kids as the hotel is in the theme park. To stay here you must be extremely patient with poor service and problematic rooms. A stay so bad that there isn't enough words to do this review justice!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aradhana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was excellent and clean! Service was great and it was nice and quite. Everything was within walking distance. Lots to do and see for the whole family. The queues was a bit of a disappointment, but the theme park was a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

the hotel is very beautiful. the service was excellent. I will defiantly recommend the hotel to people that I no. big up to gold reef city hotel. The kids enjoyed the theme park. The breakfast was awesome...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank LHRAKAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff members and always prepared to assists and make your stay at the hotel comfortable. rooms are clean and in excellent condition. a week end we will cherish and remember for a long time. will recommend friend and family to support the hotel when they on holiday. convenient pathway to a fantastic shopping area. dinner facilities was excellent and the meals where good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katenhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
8.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
2.5 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
4.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Property: Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#27 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing