We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back into time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stepping back into time”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Room amazing , great bathroom with needed extras,rooms not part of main hotel and service from reception desk very good,500 mb wi fi per day free,central to rest of sights to be visited,theme park an added bonus

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Danie H

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    155
    41
    24
    23
See reviews for
285
99
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

One always finds that we are quick to tour foreign countries but forget that South Africa has plenty of beautiful places we miss out in unless we make the effort. We chose Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel for our short stay. We were most impressed, the whole layout, the village buildings almost all being part of the hotel, the food, cleanliness, fun atmosphere was just great! I recommend this to any visitor to Johannesburg.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Pam H

Thank you for taking the time to share your views regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team.

Check in on our tripadvisor page from time to time for up-coming specials etc..
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just needs a couple of tweaks to make it truly small child friendly. Breakfast was brilliant, dinner was not so great as the variety of restaurants were limited and we had to walk back from the casino.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JWepener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear JWepener

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your comments have been noted, particularly concerning child safety in the Park which is an on-going priority for us. The current extension project that is underway will also add a host of new restaurant offerings in the near future - I look forward to welcoming you back to experience the exciting new changes!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent one evening in this gorgeous old-meets-new "village". The staff were absolutely wonderful, the room was gorgeous and the kids LOVED spending the night IN an actual theme park. Thank you so much

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Nicole M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager

PS: Exciting new revamp of Gold Reef City is currently underway - watch this space...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If on holiday this would be a good place to stay for a Theme park - but if you are looking for a hotel close to Nasrec Exhibition Centre and staying for business reasons, you may find better suited. Staff were friendly and rooms clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Hylton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Hylton M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel.

We have a variety of dining and accommodation options on offer at Gold Reef City so you may want to try the Southern Sun Gold Reef City (based at the Casino) for your next corporate stay. For a wonderful family experience,however, we agree that the Theme Park Hotel is a unique offering and is unrivaled in Gauteng as far as kids entertainment is concerned.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back to Gold Reef City again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabaneswaziland
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

very good welcome, excellent air conditioning rooms, free internet @ all rooms, wonderful enjoyable family playing gadgets in the surroundings.to me everything was superb. Not that it was my first time in a hotel, I "ve travelled almost 70% of African states.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PetrosMbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne W, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear PetrosMboingo

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for 2 nights at gold reef theme park hotel. ..warm welcome and most importantly we were given room at the ground floor..guess there are no lifts for the rooms at the first floor which makes me write that. ..Breakfast was outstanding on Sunday which was 3rd August 14...fresh breads with variety of home made muffins added a cherry on the cake...which hotel offers hot chocolate milk to its guests? This one offered. ..what a brilliant gesture in cold winters....

Park has some world class rides...barring a couple queue wasn't long and one could patiently wait for his/her turn

The only aspect I didn't appreciate is an expensive cab they arrange for your drop at the airport...It is not metered and since they don't allow usual cabs to enter the hotel compound one is left with no other choice but to take one from them....a ride of just 20 mins costs you 400 rands...i felt cheated on that front and would recommend visitors to make note of this

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#20 of 66 in Johannesburg
389 reviews
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
6.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
8.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Property: Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing