We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frayed around the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunnyside Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Atlanta
Level Contributor
208 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Frayed around the edges”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hotel has old and new parts. I stayed in the new part. Room standard with firm bed, windows that open or heat/air although it shut itself off at times, flat screen tv with limited channels, coffee/tea, safe, odd cabinets, large enough closet with hangers and shelves, duvet or blanket Plastic edge of shower door falling off, some discoloration of grout, toilet in small space, sufficient counter space, separate tub and shower, laundry line, hair dryer.

Inconsistent service. All hotel personnel polite and tried to help when asked.
Some towels were frayed. Housekeeping uneven--sometimes received face cloth, sometimes not; once received shower cap; sometimes bath floor swept, sometimes not; twice entered room and serviced despite Do Not Disturb sign on door.

Front desk staff always on phone, but would eventually hang up to help in person guest. Sometimes bellman overwhelmed with daily bus tour group.

Lots of staff standing at attention at breakfast until on unspoken command they would collect their own breakfast and disappear into the kitchen leaving only 1 or 2 staff. Plenty of room except 7:30-8:30 weekdays.

I saw several irons/boards sitting outside doors for delivery/pick up.

Housekeeping and grounds maintenance (leaf blower) begin promptly and noisily at 8am each day.

Several machines not working in exercise room, but there was one treadmill, bicycle, crosstrainer, and step machine working as well as weights available. The controls for the ceiling fans are sort of hidden. TV turned on/off by standing on stool. Door does not close/lock.

Tour company staff friendly and helpful.

Small garden pleasant. Many benches covered with bird droppings. Can sit at outdoor restaurant.

Internet inconsistent and low bandwidth. Occasional short power interruption at night.

Same large selection at breakfast each day. I had a citrus salad in the dining room that was great and a beef burger in the pub that was inedible. Can dine/drink outdoors.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    65
    43
    23
    9
See reviews for
16
16
15
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for one night to be close to Parktown at a reasonable rate. The hotel is old, but reasonably clean and safe. We asked reception to order us a taxi to Parktown North, which they promptly did and a gentleman arrived shortly after. About 5 minutes into the trip we realised that he was an unlicensed cab and his rate was exorbitant and he could not produce a receipt. Perhaps being locals (i.e. South Africans) we were too trusting and just assumed the Hotel would call a licensed and trusted cab service.

Room was adequate and had aircon. There is a shower in bath. I realised I had no hairdryer in my room early the next morning. After three requests I had to check out and left with damp hair. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank An3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Recently took my family for breakfast at The Sunnyside. Couldn’t believe it when I was charged R135 each for 2 children, aged 8 and 12 years. To add insult to injury, the service was pathetic, or more accurately, non-existing. I had to get up a number of times to find a waiter to ask for coffee, cutlery and side plates. Definitely not a place I will return to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I travel to South Africa frequently with work at Wits and because of its proximity, stay at the Sunnyside. It is an aging beauty and service can be spotty (forget wireless in your room and I've learned not to expect an iron!) but overall have found it to be reasonable. Jasonleg is right - the food is OK, wait staff can be indifferent and seating during peak breakfast hours can be dicey especially as a woman traveling alone. For a change I stayed at a Protea my last visit and will go back to Sunnyside next time if only because of proximity and the Protea was no better.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

i booked this hotel with advise from my distributor and the hotel was fine. security was first class and the room was good. the pub was opened 2 days after my stay started but shut earlier than the manager advised me.,when checking out check the bil as mine was incorrect. overall the stay was good and i would return

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel is located in Parktown which is not a great area to stay in if you are on vacation. I consult at an office just down the road so it is convenient.

The overall atmosphere is of a hotel with some former glory. Now it is faded and looks rather tired and tacky. Some rooms have been modernized like the one I stayed in but earlier this year stayed in one that was not.

Buffet dinner is overpriced but breakfast was basic and as long as you can find a seat-okay.

Staff are polite bordering on disinterested.

Stay again? Yes as there are no real other alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The reviewer who recently gave this venue a 5 must have been staying in a different room if not the different era that the hotel harks back to . . . My room was more like a long corridor positioned over the kitchen (smells) and adjacent to a large compressor system (noise). My window overlooked an extremely dank and dirty raised yard - so much for the advertised garden views . . WiFi was a joke and the business centre did not have a printer, so I was unable to print out the documents I required for an early morning meeting (staff tried the reception printer but the results were unusable). Missed breakfast due to the printer fiasco so can't comment on that . . .Yes the area is well positioned for business meetings - but there are choices . .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afrocentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 68 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#23 of 68 in Johannesburg
378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 68 in Johannesburg
338 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Johannesburg
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Property: Sunnyside Park Hotel
Address: Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel, has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a bygone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing