We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Lights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunnyside Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“City Lights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for work purposes. It is conveniently located, within walking distance of Wits University.
The hotel is a historical site, and has a great ambiance. Meals are well prepared, and restaurant service is good.For breakfast and dinner, there is quite a varied selection.

I asked for a quiet room, and I was given one.Of course , there was no view at all, but It didn't mind. I did get some quality sleep.

My room did not have a refuse bin or a desk light. These were supplied when I informed Reception that these items were missing from my room.The TV is pretty old, and picture quality is poor.
The bathroom has been recently renovated,but the shower was faulty: most of the water ran down the wall and ended up in a puddle on the floor.

Staff are generally slow to respond to your requests or complaints.

All in all, it was not unpleasant, but could have been better if staff were more enthusiastic to assist guests.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marvelous garden are in big demand.The view is really stunning, but there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    63
    42
    23
    9
See reviews for
16
16
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Price was good, staff were lovely and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. I stayed in the old part of the hotel and it had a sort of faded neo-colonial charm that I liked. It is good location for work being close to all of the satellites business suburbs like Santown but also close enough to the old down town if you want it. The Gardens and pool are a nice shady retreat from the city. The gym is very run down and the wi-fi for business was hopeless unless you wanted to work between the dining room and the bar, being a business trip wi fi was important as the cost of data in South Africa via your phone is very high. If you like modern get a room in the new part if not stay in the old section with a room looking over the garden.

Room Tip: Request a room looking over the Gardens and the pool and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Booking in was pleasant
Room for the purpose of my visit was sufficient
Staff were helpful and pleasant
Breakfast was sufficient and ample

The main room lamp did not work. The TV was defective/broken. I complained via the "Oops" card message, but over my two day stay; nothing was done to make good the defects.
The noise level in the room was quite unbearable. Noise came in from the kitchen staff chattering and going about their duties 3 floors below. When adjoining rooms showers were in use, the water pipes emitted a deafening vibration. Noise from a motor/compressor was also a source of disturbance. I did complain to two separate sets of hotel staff.
Hotel staff admitted there were numerous complaints of noise disturbance.

Most disturbing issue that I found; a "clean" bath towel had a sticky body fluid on it. Fortunately, I spread out my bath towel before taking a shower and found the towel was sticking together. Showed the towel to Ms Jabu of housekeeping; who promptly took it away.
Take a look at the picture I took and attached to this review.

Room Tip: do not book into room 235
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hard to believe that a 4 star hotel would have a grimy lavatory and staff that don't seem to care for offering tentative service.

For starters I signed for room 228 but was allocated room 109 on the 22nd April 2013. Little did I know that I'd be walking into a dormitory kind of room. I was shocked to see grimy tiles on the walls of the shower. Taking a shower was the only options as the bath feature was lose. I would expect this from a 2 or 3 star kind of hotel which I'd never be caught in. Even the carpets were peeling off from the floor never mind the peeled sockets from the lamp.

I was glad I was not fitting the bill for this one night and even spending the night there was due to the effort it would take to get a shuttle to another hotel after checking in at 10 pm. There are hotels that maintain the old vintage look with pride, but this... was the worst I've seen.
I loved the grounds but even they will not be enough to the feeling of taking a shower in someone else’s grimy mess. I even took pictures and I'm tempted to download the video on YouTube so anyone else looking at staying in this place has a view and know fully well what they are getting themselves to.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room first before you are left with no option to change as they will tell you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xbsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Was a good hotel, comfortable beds and stunning gardens. The reception was pleasant and very helpful. Only downside is the cleaning staff knocking on the door at 8am wanting to clean the room - my suggestion - start the cleaning process at 10 so that it coincides with the check out people

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marcello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

For City Centre, Braamfontein or Parktown, this hotel is great! They provide Olde Worlde charm and hospitality in peaceful grounds. Also very reasonably priced. I've only stayed there for business and one or two nights at a time and never had a complaint. In the old section this time which isn't as nice as the new section.

Room Tip: The old section is a bit shabby and in need of upgrading but the new section is top class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights on a business trip. The location for me was great as I was close to where I had many of my meetings but otherwise you are pretty isolated. The grounds are very nice and the building itself is a nice change from chain hotels. I liked the restaurant and the pub - neither was great but both were good.

When I checked in, the receptionist was shocked that I had shown up at noon (ie from the airport after my flight landed) as though no one would ever show up before check in time. When I asked if she had a map of the area she said no - in spite of the fact that the hotel directory says they available at reception - and may no effort to get one for me. This is an absolute minimum expectation for any hotel around the world.

My room was old but fine. It seemed like it was always "half clean" - they would remove the linens and/or towels but not replace them with clean ones for hours. I often found hairs in the shower after the cleaning was done.

I would stay here again if I had business in the same area but not otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#28 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Property: Sunnyside Park Hotel
Address: Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel, has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a bygone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing