We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relief after a long drive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunnyside Park Hotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I thought Sunnyside Park Hotel was absolutely delightful. Such a welcome haven after a long drive. The staff were very helpful,and the accommodation excellent. We would recommend the hotel to all our friends and hope to return there one day. The only suggestion is that an accurate and detailed map of how to drive ourselves to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerdunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Rogerdunsmore

Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Chris Schutte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

This really is an old time hotel beautifully restored and maintained to a four star grading. In a similar class of the likes of the Mount Nelson in Cape Town or the Lord Charles in Somerset West. Food and drinks are of a high standard and the staff very friendly and courteous. I will go back here any time!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front overlook the hotel's tranquil gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Johan H

Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Chris Schutte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Sunnyside is close to CBD and recommendation for everyone working in CBD Johannesburg. The hotel is clean and in a safe area with a little park surrounding the buildings.
They do have a restaurant and a bar/pub area with nice and decent food.
Staff is well trained and with and old-school approach that i like very much. For sure a difference in comparison to the big hotel chains.
They will know your name most likely as of day 2 or 3 :-)

Room Tip: Go for the Garden villas....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorsten_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Mr Thorsten

Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed one night on our way from Zimbabwe and back to Europe. The hotel has a classic atmosphere, in the lobby, the rooms, etc. Room was nice and clean. Bar was cozy with very friendly staff.
Restaurant was OK, but rather expensive. Staff were a bit slow and not coordinated (came and asked the same questions from different sides). At 9 pm they began to remove plates and glasses from the empty tables, in order to arrange for next day breakfast, although several parties were still eating. We got a feeling, that they would like us to finish, so they could get off!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr Lars

Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged.
We are disappointed to hear that the dinner service did not meet your expectations and I do apologise for the inconvenience caused.
We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Chris Schutte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We only stayed here one night as we were attending a wedding nearby but we found it to be a great hotel. The gardens and surrounds are lovely, the staff all very helpful and efficient and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the new wing and didn't have any complaints about the room at all. The food in the hotel was delicious - we had a lunch and a breakfast and both were superb. The price of the hotel was very reasonable and I would definitely stay there again if we needed to be in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Buzzah

Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged. We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Chris Schutte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have been at this hotel for almost a week and love it. The service has been outstanding since the moment I made my reservation. After check in, the front desk graciously changed my room from the new wing to the main building - a very nice suite with a balcony. I booked the new wing based on reviews here, but the historic part really suits my taste. Hot water galore, great firm bed, soft pillows, fridge, fresh fruit plate, great breakfast buffet...excellent service all around. If you want pristine and new, book the new wing. If you want historic and comfy, book the main. WiFi can be spotty, so be prepared to interact with people instead of devices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ann S,

Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged. We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future.

Yours in hospitality

Chris Schutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was once again very happy with the Sunnyside Park. My room in the new wing was outstanding. Well appointed and comfortably furnished. The well equipped gym is, for me, a big plus. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Nevvy

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your stay and accommodation. I am delighted you enjoyed using our gym. Our regular guests are very important to us and we appreciate your support. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunnyside Park Hotel.

Yours in hospitality
Chris Schutte
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
1.8 mi away
Hotel QSL on 44
Hotel QSL on 44
#31 of 66 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#15 of 66 in Johannesburg
381 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Address: Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £69 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel, has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a bygone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing