We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I had time to kill whilst waiting for a nearby appointment and dropped into the hotel. My phone was flat and whilst I had an excellent coffee in the lobby, an adaptor plug was found for charging it. I had more coffee and an great lunch, all it the lobby and work completed was allowed to store my luggage with the concierge even though I wasn't a guest so that i could go for a walk and stretch my legs. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with such a positive "can do" attitude! Thank you Hyatt!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    231
    82
    27
    23
See reviews for
60
87
44
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I heard this used to be Park Hyatt and I can see why. Service is great, the lobby and the garden area has nice ambience, and the room is tastefully decorated and functional. This was such a great get away from a horrible month-long stay at Crown Plaza down the street.

As a diamond, breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvre were excellent. Again, the wait staff were very attentive and everything was well presented and tasted. Very well done!

Location was also very good as the hotel is inside of a mall (very safe) and has a direct access to the train.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildcatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Well it's a Hyatt what more can I say? I was a guest at this hotel for an extended business trip and I must say these folks went out of their way! A super staff, a great location (and I mean a great location) good food in the hotel and within steps from the hotel. The spa was great. Loved the bed.
Would I stay here again or recommend this hotel - YES!

Room Tip: Just ask for one, the staff will make your stay worth while
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Good_time_Ahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a great hotel! located in the leafy and upscale suburb of rosebank, which is easily accessible from the airport via gautrain (one transfer), its newly renovated and feels like you are stepping into one of the great hotels in nyc or Chicago.
the gym is functional, the lap pool on the roof is a hidden gem, especially at night, and the regency floor is well stocked with snacks and refreshments.
wifi is free and sometimes lightning fast, sometimes a little slow.
they will transport you to the airport in posh audi a7's (650 rand), but the train is faster in peak periods.
no complaints about the rooms, they too are nicely renovated. a short walk through the hotel to the girlllhouse and katzy's makes for a great customer event.

Room Tip: go for the regency floor, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is a great place to be stationed. It is literally right off the GauTrain so it is easy to the airport or to great shopping and restaurants in Santon. Further, it is located in a great shopping area so you don't even have to leave the area. The spa was good as was the internet and fitness facility. There are some renovations taking place and the lobby can be loud but it didn't bother me much.

Room Tip: The lobby construction starts before 8AM 7 days per week so if you want to sleep in I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheworld03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Hyatt Regency in Johannesburg is connected to a local shopping center in Rosebank and you can reach the property easily by subway/train from the airport (40 minutes) or the city center.
I stayed at the Hyatt for one night on an overnight stay in Johannesburg.
Several restaurants, entertainment and shops are in the shopping center.
The hotel is a modern high rise building. When I arrived Hyatt could not find my reservation. Only after I spent an hour at the front desk and showed my email confirmation from the Hyatt website the front desk agent called reservation and they found my booking.
The rooms were modern and well equipped. The internet connection was restricted to a low bandwith and SKYPE calls or movies were out of the question.
The breakfast at the regency launch was ok, I also had evening snacks - and no complaints.
The hotel underwent construction in the lobby area. I did not hear anything in the room, but it was uncomfortable to walk through the lobby. The hotel did not post this construction project on their hyatt.com website.

The fitness area was nice, but I was unable to figure out how to turn on the jacuzzi. The sauna was just warm and and no maintenance was available. The water in the outdoor swimming-pool was cold.

I wasn't overall impressed with the hotel, but it was ok for one night

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eTurboNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg during a trip to Johannesburg for medical reasons. We stayed on the Regency Club floor in a corner King-size bed room. The room and bathroom were spacious and the decor was refined and understated. Floor-to-ceiling windows in the room as well as lots of wardrobe space were a plus. Despite maintenance on the property during our stay, we slept restfully and were not disturbed. The complimentary continental breakfast, canapes, Nespresso coffee and drinks in the private Regency Club lounge were like an extension to our room with high-quality periodicals, international newspapers, as well as news on a flat-screen tv. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant, Ndau, so I cannot comment on that - however, the afternoon tea served in the lobby/lounge area is well worth the time. The hotel is directly connected to The Firs shopping center which boasts a number of good restaurants and shops. You can also reach the Rosebank mall just a few steps away. For those hiring a car, there is adequate and secure underground parking and if not, the Rosebank Gautrain station is a few hundred meters away. I would happily stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Stay on the Regency Club floor to enjoy the private lounge and ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Kassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing