We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Centrally located hotel in Rosebank. The Rosebank mall is a 2 minute walk. The concierge staff is always helpful and efficient. However, don't expect any extra attention if you're a platinum GP member - you'll never be upgraded and be prepared to be curtly responded to. Also be prepared for very archaic rules - the lounge will not serve you restaurant food inspite of being a hop skip jump away - also don't invite anyone for a late meal - after 11 pm the staff is doing you a favor by serving you food in the lobby/open area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RahulSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear RahulSG,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were disappointed to read that you encountered some issues while staying with us. We will certainly discuss these points with the team.
We do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    231
    82
    26
    23
See reviews for
59
87
44
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Dirty " under wear " left laying in the cupboards, bins not emptied from the previous guest's stay. Room filthy and totally UNHYGENIC!! Complained to the Duty Manager who failed to assist. No other option but to check out of hotel on the same day as we checked in. Logged a complaint with the hotel manager who has still not returned my calls after leaving numerous messages.
Disgusted and appalled as this is suppose to be a FIVE STAR INTERNATIONALLY RECOGNISED HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panchi121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Panchi121,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel and that you did not receive the service that we strive to achieve. We do believe that you have been in contact with our General Manager and that a solution has since been found.
We do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was here for 5 weeks on business and stayed on the executive floor. I have to say this is a modern and luxurious hotel. The rooms are spacious, quiet, modern and comfy. The concierge staff are very helpful, the hotel arrange for their Audi Q7 4X4 to drop and pick me and my colleagues from office every day. The hotel is attached to Rosebank Mall, meaning you have lots of shops and restaurants you can walt to safely within the complex without driving. The gym facilities are good and the breakfast in the ground floor is very good.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Michael K,
Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one!
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, comfortable beds, good choice of TV channels, and good staff. They also recommended me a nice jazz concert for a Saturday evening. The restaurant aha nice variety of dishes ( try the mustard-covered baked kingklip - just awesome). The courtyard at the back also has an outdoor cigar lounge area with nice choices of Cohiba. Definitely high quality hotel. Will come back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Caius P,
Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one!
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had an award night at the Hyatt in Johannesburg, was great for a getaway, otherwise the price would be too much! Great is that you have the mall and restaurants nearby, parking is easy, spa service was good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pueppithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Pueppithecat,
Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one!
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I visit Johannesburg once per year and always return to the Hyatt. It used to be a Park Hyatt and subsequently was re-branded as a Hyatt Regency. For a Hyatt Regency it is an excellent property and since my last visit in 2013 it has undergone a significant upgrade. The lobby is brand new.
The hotel is adjacent to a small shopping mall with some very nice dining options.
The breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres in the Regency lounge are excellent. The rooms ending in 22 have balconies. I enjoyed watching the sunset from there.
The gym, spa and pool are also worth mentioning and much more akin to a Park Hyatt than a Hyatt Regency.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 22 have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msprenger001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear msprenger001,
Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one!
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This feel seems to have 2 personalities, a very modern lobby and restaurant area and an older more traditional setting for the rooms and the executive lounge. Rooms were good in size and had all the usual facilities. I love a good strong shower and the power in this one wasn't the best. Located next to a mall and within 1 mins walk to the metro

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MohammedHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaBambinaTorino, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear MohammedHI,
Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one!
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Property: Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing