We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile visit!”

South African National Museum of Military History
Ranked #10 of 177 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large museum contains mostly military-related records, journals, weapons and photographs that depict the nation’s participation in large-scale conflicts.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
812 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A great museum with dozens of military vehicles, planes etc. It is well laid out and does not really too heavily on display boards like some museums. The temporary Battle of Britain exhibition was tiny though and crammed into a small room. Outside is the gun park which has at its centre an old Dakota aircraft. Don't forget to visit the War Store with lots of military memorabilia. All in all a worthwhile visit and a bargain at 25 Rand. Nearby is Zoo Lake which is a nice place to relax. I walked there from Melville and felt quite safe.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    124
    21
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The building alone is impressive, so much so that our taxi driver got out to join us view the exhibits. We thoroughly enjoyed looking at all the model soldiers, uniforms, guns, tanks and planes. Unfortunately, the War Store was closed when we visited (it's open from 10.00 to 4.00) but looking through the window, we saw some intriguing prints, uniforms and military insignia. Definitely worth a visit. Could easily spend two hours there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungryHippo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fascinating and absorbing”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The museum is full of all sorts of extra things you don't notice the first two or three times you go. From planes to tanks to uniforms to odd weapons and bits of history, it's definitely a must for people who want a real look into this part of our world history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SWelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not just for military / history buffs”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The SA National Museum of Military History is a modern and well-planned museum. It has a wide variety of exhibits, all connected with South Africa (obviously). It will take half-a-day to see the museum. Most exhibits are undercover if the weather is wet or wild. Military museums aren't for everyone but this one is full of interesting stories and offers another perspective on South Africa's contribution to world events and it's own troubled past.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Must-Visit!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After visiting the military museum many, many years ago while I was still in school I was reluctant to visit again with my family in tow, as I remembered it being rather stuffy and boring. How things have changed!

The Military Museum is all the things a great museum should be. Interesting, informative, Interactive and Inventful! The museum is wonderfully kept, with attention given to detail all around, and it has one of the most impressive collections of aircraft I have seen outside of an air museum.

It's great if you're visiting Johannesburg for only a few days and want to combine the Military Museum with a visit to the zoo, as they are adjacent to each other.

If you live in Joburg and have never been to the military museum or, like me, have rather drab memories of it, give it a shot, you won't regret it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mikecabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South African National Museum of Military History also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to South African National Museum of Military History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing