We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South African National Museum of Military History
Ranked #10 of 173 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large museum contains mostly military-related records, journals, weapons and photographs that depict the nation’s participation in large-scale conflicts.
South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
“3rd Visit”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I went to the museum several times with Visitors from Germany and America. In all cases the response was very positive. A well presented and maintained venue.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    119
    21
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A definite visit for history buffs”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A great place to visit to view authentic war memorabilia. The exhibits are in great condition, considering that some of the items are as old as the mid 1600's.

You can view World War One and World War Two items, tanks, field cannons, cavalry swords, rifles and bayonets.

I spent almost 2 hours wandering around, reading up about different wars.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueKapery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“something for the boys...”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

a great place to take kids to share some history. the boys really love it, girls not so much. they can walk on the tanks, climb on some old airplanes and even get in a few old relics. looking at the memorabilia really takes you back, not me presoannly, i'm not that old but you get what i mean...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great venue to have a kids birthday party!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had my sons birthday party there and the venue was amazing, the kids loves the venue! The museum is well maintained and there is ample parking. There is a restaurant onsite, but the food isn’t that great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Choba14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A step into the History of SA military”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Insightful, educative intriguing. It exhibits stretch back 3 centuries and cover the full breadth of military..naval, infantry, airforce, pre and post apartheid etc. The only thing I didn't like about it is that taking photos is not allowed (I guess not strange for a museum)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South African National Museum of Military History also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to South African National Museum of Military History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing