We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hotel! Great value for money.”
Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Simonne
Ranked #18 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent hotel! Great value for money.”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Location, facilities and atmosphere are great! Each room has each own style and the staff/people are amazingly friendly. Since the hotel started recently it has a few hick-ups, for example you can't dine here. They will advise you and help wherever possible. An example of their service level, my colleague and I wanted to barbecue in the garden (that is possible) they bought some great food and we had a really splendid evening, another guest even joined us. Also traveling with partner and family I would really recommend this place. Will definitely stay loyal to this hotel!

Room Tip: Moulin Rouge and Marrakech are great, you can even change rooms to experience different experiences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohanAmsterdam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
49
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My third stay at Villa Simonne and I can honestly say that it only gets better each time! This visit allowed me more time to explore all the delightful areas in the gardens and this contributed to a very relaxing stay.
I have stayed in a different suite each time and the attention to detail continues to surprise me. Each suite is totally unique and I can't fault anything - the rooms are much more spacious than the average hotel room in a business hotel in JHB.
The team welcomed me as a friend more than a client and yet maintained their professionalism at all times - a fine balance that was maintained throughout my stay.
I travel a lot for business and Villa Simonne will see me each time I am back in JHB - a true oasis!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reisguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We were surprised in every way. The pictures of Villa Simonne, though extensive and varied, do not come close to revealing the spectacular features of this facility. The staff were overwhelming with personal care and service The many niches and locations within the facility, both indoors and outside, allow for you to be alone and in a wonderful, luxurious setting no matter where you choose to land. Rooms are extremely thoughtful in decor and amenities. This is a great value

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFD131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed at the Villa Simone with my partner on valentines day. The moment I drove I was mesmerized by the beautiful mansion, big beautiful garden, Lovely bar and their very inviting pool area. We were then lead to our intimate spot themed The African Queen River Boat where a dinner table was set for us, wine, rose petals and everything beautiful. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are all individually themed. I was staying at the Emperor Nero which had a glass tile which gavee a view directly into the pool. The hotel is located in a great area close to the malls. I would highly recomend Villa Simonne to anyone looking to have a holiday in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed in January 2013 with my wife and two children for 5 days in the 2 bedroom apartment Florence. The hotel and its grounds are definitely an experience and something that I have never seen in my life. The management and staff are delightful and hospital people, they did everything in their reach to make us feel at ease, after an unfortunate event, in this family style hotel.
We will definitely come back to this hotel at our next stay in Johannesburg

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravellers065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Spent a magical week in Joburg recently. The work not so much, but evenings were filled with camaraderie, conversations and flow of ideas all inspired no doubt by ample supplies of brandy and hot water and other libations of global flavors

The Inn keeper's heir apparent - Mr Dimitri him of the radical alternative medicine specialty has now come back to take care of the business affairs of this wonderful B&B established by his father

This B&B is inspired by the hot spots of the world -- Olympia, Bali, Rome Egypt with each room having objects d'art from those particular parts of the world. Valuable carpets adorn the place along with 2 family dogs who are very much a part of the B&B as their proprieters. And it works because is all nicely tended to by a very good wait staff fronted by the very able Nicole and other cast of characters

Would highly recommend this place for young couples romancing or older couples celebrating or indeed anybody who love all things eclectic in life. This is truly a throwback to an era passed that will never be regained. Do not miss having a drink at the "Hollywood" bar - a tribute to Hollywood actors of old, complete with its own casino table, jazz ensemble & disco ball to boot

I look forward to another trip to Joburg simply to relax at the bar or the garden area & get a flavor of what is a once in a lifetime B&B experience

Room Tip: All rooms are very different but choose the ones overlooking the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shri_Ranganathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My stay at Villa Simonne was so much more than i expected. An escape from reality & the hustle & bustle, yet 2 mins from the highway and corporate world, making it perfectly located!!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful in everyway, making my stay truly unforgettable.

Each area in Villa Simonne has so much history and culture, alot of effort and detail has gone into the decor. Its all so glamorous, elegant and interesting.

My suit, The Marakesh had a dreamy & classy feel (even romantic making it perfect for a couple), sitting on the bacalcony looking out onto the lucious garden, it was so peaceful, I felt like I was out in nature on a retreat.

I especially love the Grand Bar and Saloon, so unique!!

The garden looked magical & mystical. So beautiful, pitty about the rain, would have loved to see the night garden, I'll definitely see the magic on my next stay:)

I cant quite call Villa Simone a Guest lodge, its in a class of its own, like nothing Ive seen before. perfect for a couples retreat. business trips or even just an overnight stay, infact, there's so much to see & experience, one night is just not enough.

Thank you.... I'll Definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
742 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Property: Villa Simonne
Address: 16 West Street | Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Themed Suites - From Marrakesh to Moulin Rouge... Villa Simonne offers exemplary accommodation in the heart of Houghton, as well as an exquisite venue for events and conferences. Borrowing design cues from bygone eras and inspired by the most enchanting cities of the world, the Art Deco boutique hotel conjures up vintage images of Casablanca, and comes to life like the pages of a Hemingway novel. Combining an exclusive location with breath taking scenery, Villa Simonne is a unique experience, and one you are not likely to read about in a travel guide. Accommodation Each suite is designed for comfort, and is uniquely styled with custom-made furniture and art deco pieces, to stimulate the imagination and enhance your stay. Guests have a choice of: Standard suites Deluxe suites 2-bedroom apartments Presidential suite – study, bedroom, walk in closet, steam room, Jacuzzi Wellness Villa Simonne incorporates a health track for those looking to recover and rejuvenate, or simply wanting to look and feel their best. All treatments are done in the comfort of the estate by our integrative network of health care professionals: dietician, specialist therapists and clinical psychologist. Our wellness menu ranges from beauty treatments, to holistic heath care and therapies. Massage Fresh juices Beauty Treatments – nails, facials, hair, waxing Botox and Fillers Ayurveda oil treatments Yoga classes Sauna Jacuzzi Psychotherapy – hypnotherapy and other modalities Entertainment and Events Villa Simonne’s event area is dramatically themed according to ancient cities and bygone eras, and may be hired out as the perfect backdrop for outstanding and memorable events – weddings, dinner parties, high teas, corporate and team-building events, casino evenings, as well as exclusive private parties. Conferencing The estate is complete with both indoor and outdoor conference areas, while the entertainment and breakaway areas create a comfortable destination where corporate guests can enjoy business meetings throughout the day, and a sophisticated social atmosphere in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing