We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed and excited”
Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Simonne
Ranked #20 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazed and excited”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was mind blowing like no other boutique or art hotel I've seen before. The decor is just constantly surprising and impressive and was obviously collected over decades. The lovely bird life in the massive garden was a real pick me up in the morning and the intimate family reception and friendly staff put us right at ease. Loved the pool and sauna. And caught the gautrain bus just outside the hotel to a meeting. Definitely didn't feel like your normal Joburg bnb. They even make a good dirty martini at the bar - which is a real highlight of the place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shwamibaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
49
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK_Traveller019
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed two nights midweek shortly before Christmas, a quiet time apparently as the hotel was (apparently) almost empty. The "nightclub" was deserted both nights - perhaps it's busier at weekends - and the decor is unusual. Each room/suite has its own very different theme, and the garden has a number of interesting installations - elements of a greek temple and Mississippi steamboat included. That said, it was very clean, comfortable, food ok and servcie good - nothing to complain about and absolutely fine for the short stay that we wanted. Also very convenient for the Killarney Mall, just five minutes walk away. We'd certainly consider staying here if we're in Jo'burg again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Traveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for just one night (wish we had stayed longer) and were blown away by the craftsmanship of the entire building and themed rooms and décor that encompass all the living space. This was not limited to the rooms as there was a themed bar, gentleman's games room, a knights cellar and generally fantastic elements to the whole building. The price was also extremely fair and staff very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

As if you’ve stepped onto the set of an old Hollywood movie the villa has glamour, charm and grace, such uniqueness guaranteed you never have experienced before. It’s grand and certainly has a wow factor but leaving you feeling relaxed and at home. The grounds are enormous and there will be places to find to be private however there is also great entertaining space for those more sociable moments. The staff are so friendly, accommodating and willing to cater for your every need. Location is ideal as it’s quick and easy to pop onto the highway. I’d highly recommend this Boutique Hotel experience to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamarinH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in late Ocober and found this Hotel to be unique, quirky and full of personality. It was different from any othe rHotel we satyed in and we enjoyed it immensely. We also found the staff to be extremely courteous and professional and the general atmosphere to be most conducive for us to relax and enjoy our stay which we did.

Room Tip: All rooms are themed, we stayed in the Emperor Nero room which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised on my arrival at the villa,I was welcomed by the owners themselves and the friendly team of staff.
The rooms were luxurious and the hotel catered for my every need.i found the room extremly comfortable and way ahead of many hotels i have been to,the surrounding gardens were tranquil and relaxing and I enjoyed the professional calibre of staff.

A big thank you to the head chef Percy and her team for amazing delicious Mediterranean cuisine.

I have travelled extensively and found this to be one of the most eccentric and unique boutique hotels..one needs to go there to fully appreciate the beauty and exciting enviroment!!!

I look forward to returning and will definitely be back soon

Room Tip: The Marrakech
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NatalieRenou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This Hotel is certainly different from most hotels i have been. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Beautiful exterior and very cool themed rooms but i feel the rooms are now dated and an replacement of things like rugs and lights is a must. the beds need new linen and more pillows.

Also there should be a warning that there are dogs on the premises.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
728 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Property: Villa Simonne
Address: 16 West Street | Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Themed Suites - From Marrakesh to Moulin Rouge... Villa Simonne offers exemplary accommodation in the heart of Houghton, as well as an exquisite venue for events and conferences. Borrowing design cues from bygone eras and inspired by the most enchanting cities of the world, the Art Deco boutique hotel conjures up vintage images of Casablanca, and comes to life like the pages of a Hemingway novel. Combining an exclusive location with breath taking scenery, Villa Simonne is a unique experience, and one you are not likely to read about in a travel guide. Accommodation Each suite is designed for comfort, and is uniquely styled with custom-made furniture and art deco pieces, to stimulate the imagination and enhance your stay. Guests have a choice of: Standard suites Deluxe suites 2-bedroom apartments Presidential suite – study, bedroom, walk in closet, steam room, Jacuzzi Wellness Villa Simonne incorporates a health track for those looking to recover and rejuvenate, or simply wanting to look and feel their best. All treatments are done in the comfort of the estate by our integrative network of health care professionals: dietician, specialist therapists and clinical psychologist. Our wellness menu ranges from beauty treatments, to holistic heath care and therapies. Massage Fresh juices Beauty Treatments – nails, facials, hair, waxing Botox and Fillers Ayurveda oil treatments Yoga classes Sauna Jacuzzi Psychotherapy – hypnotherapy and other modalities Entertainment and Events Villa Simonne’s event area is dramatically themed according to ancient cities and bygone eras, and may be hired out as the perfect backdrop for outstanding and memorable events – weddings, dinner parties, high teas, corporate and team-building events, casino evenings, as well as exclusive private parties. Conferencing The estate is complete with both indoor and outdoor conference areas, while the entertainment and breakaway areas create a comfortable destination where corporate guests can enjoy business meetings throughout the day, and a sophisticated social atmosphere in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing