We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Simonne
Ranked #18 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Absolutely stunning. Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in johannesburg. Made us feel super welcomed and offered us free wine and drinks as it was our wedding night there. The hotel is a maze of wonder with every corner a new spot to relax and chat

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
49
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I travel quite a bit for business and am used to standard, bland hotel rooms.
This was my first time at villa Simonne but I reckon it will be my default Johannesburg stay from now on. It is delightfully eclectic, luxurious and spacious.
You could probably spend a day just wandering around this place and admiring the decorations.
Such a welcome change from my normal business travel...
Dinner was really good too, very tasty, no fuss food..
Definitely worth it

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tomasvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

If only trip advisor had a 6 star rating! My wife and I arrived late on Friday night for a romantic weekend getaway and truly fell in love.

The staffs were gracious and efficient two qualities not always found in South African hotels.

The Villa itself must be seen to be believed. The themed rooms and gorgeous gardens made a sumptuous setting for a perfect weekend.

We will be back !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanPretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Villa Simonne for the weekend and had a lovely time.
It is in a great area in Johannesburg near a shopping centre and the staff advised us on other sights to see in the area.

We had a lot of fun having drinks at the unique movie themed bar and the room was amazing.

The hotel has a very warm and homely feel.

Thank you to the staff for the outstanding service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esme v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My girls & I had a wonderful night, great & the service was impeccable. Villa staff were friendly & helpful. Definitely the best night ever. We are going to come back soon. If your looking a wonderful experience visit villa

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntheki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

What an amazing place in a quiet and upmarket area of Johannesburg, we recieved nothing but excellent service from the time we arrived till the time we checked out. With lovely gardens and after a show around on the property seeing some of the diffrent themed rooms I was truly, truly amazed. This place is one of a kind and I would recommend it to anyone, you wont be disappointed and I wouldnt see myself staying anywere else for some quiet time away.

Well done Villa Simonne and thank you for makng our stay so enjoyable :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed with my husband for 3 nights in hotel Villa Simonne by Dimitris and Nestor . An amazing gem in the exclusive area of ​​Lower Houghton. The living rooms are beautiful. The suites are unique in theme and decor. The exteriors places, a paradise . But I will never forget the sweetness of the owners and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff .. We feel like we are in our home , with our friends and our own people , a unprecedented experience . I'm sure in the near future we'll be back in South Africa and of course I will stay at Villa Simonne . many greetings to all staff and a big thank you . Yanna

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yannasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Property: Villa Simonne
Address: 16 West Street | Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Themed Suites - From Marrakesh to Moulin Rouge... Villa Simonne offers exemplary accommodation in the heart of Houghton, as well as an exquisite venue for events and conferences. Borrowing design cues from bygone eras and inspired by the most enchanting cities of the world, the Art Deco boutique hotel conjures up vintage images of Casablanca, and comes to life like the pages of a Hemingway novel. Combining an exclusive location with breath taking scenery, Villa Simonne is a unique experience, and one you are not likely to read about in a travel guide. Accommodation Each suite is designed for comfort, and is uniquely styled with custom-made furniture and art deco pieces, to stimulate the imagination and enhance your stay. Guests have a choice of: Standard suites Deluxe suites 2-bedroom apartments Presidential suite – study, bedroom, walk in closet, steam room, Jacuzzi Wellness Villa Simonne incorporates a health track for those looking to recover and rejuvenate, or simply wanting to look and feel their best. All treatments are done in the comfort of the estate by our integrative network of health care professionals: dietician, specialist therapists and clinical psychologist. Our wellness menu ranges from beauty treatments, to holistic heath care and therapies. Massage Fresh juices Beauty Treatments – nails, facials, hair, waxing Botox and Fillers Ayurveda oil treatments Yoga classes Sauna Jacuzzi Psychotherapy – hypnotherapy and other modalities Entertainment and Events Villa Simonne’s event area is dramatically themed according to ancient cities and bygone eras, and may be hired out as the perfect backdrop for outstanding and memorable events – weddings, dinner parties, high teas, corporate and team-building events, casino evenings, as well as exclusive private parties. Conferencing The estate is complete with both indoor and outdoor conference areas, while the entertainment and breakaway areas create a comfortable destination where corporate guests can enjoy business meetings throughout the day, and a sophisticated social atmosphere in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing