We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So wonderful, I keep going back!”
Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Simonne
Ranked #20 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So wonderful, I keep going back!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It's simply an amazing place to stay! Each time I go to SA, which I've done consistently through the years, I make my way back there... It's luxurious, clean, comfortable, and safe, with staff going above and beyond the call of duty to meet my needs. The owner takes great pride in the quality of the place... not something you find very often. It seems that no expense has been spared, and on enquiring about my next visit I've heard that the rooms are being updated again. There's a mall just across the road, tons of places to eat, fantastic breakfast, and the setting is incredible (you could spend the whole holiday just in the gardens and swimming pool- and there's a steam room too!). During my stays, I've often invited my SA friends and family over, and a number of them have now also booked breaks away there (or intend to). It's difficult to put into words just how lovely this place is, but if you choose to visit and stay, you'll find out just what I mean! (oh, and you have to try the curry off their menu too... yum!!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank identity_free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    26
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
49
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you too have spent a disproportionate part of your life in hotels and have come to the realization that all rooms are the same, try the Villa SImonne and think again! Here you can suspend your anonymous hotel-to-hotel existence on your never-ending business trip itinerary and interact with carefully-curated eclectic surroundings, a luxurious atmosphere and friendly staff.

So far I have stayed in nearly every room already (I think!). This place is totally brilliant and something to look forward to when having to stay in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a different room every stay. They also have multi-room family suites. Prices vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BignoseTheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very good, safe and secure. You can walk to a local mall which has a bunch of places to eat. The whole neighborhood is very nice. It was low season when we were there so the hotel was very quite. Great made to order breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was in South Africa recently on a business trip and had the pleasure of staying at Villa Simone. What I thought was going to be a stressful time turned out to be a holiday to remember. The hotel is so beautifully decorated. Each suite is themed after a different city. I stayed in the Geisha suite but had a peek in some of the others and definitely have to go back. Relaxing by the pool, strolling in the magnificent gardens or having a drink in the old school bar was the perfect way to end a long day. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was great. I will definitely be going back. The kids will love it and its the perfect place for a romantic time away with the hubby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Absolutely stunning. Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in johannesburg. Made us feel super welcomed and offered us free wine and drinks as it was our wedding night there. The hotel is a maze of wonder with every corner a new spot to relax and chat

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I travel quite a bit for business and am used to standard, bland hotel rooms.
This was my first time at villa Simonne but I reckon it will be my default Johannesburg stay from now on. It is delightfully eclectic, luxurious and spacious.
You could probably spend a day just wandering around this place and admiring the decorations.
Such a welcome change from my normal business travel...
Dinner was really good too, very tasty, no fuss food..
Definitely worth it

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tomasvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If only trip advisor had a 6 star rating! My wife and I arrived late on Friday night for a romantic weekend getaway and truly fell in love.

The staffs were gracious and efficient two qualities not always found in South African hotels.

The Villa itself must be seen to be believed. The themed rooms and gorgeous gardens made a sumptuous setting for a perfect weekend.

We will be back !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanPretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
728 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Property: Villa Simonne
Address: 16 West Street | Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Themed Suites - From Marrakesh to Moulin Rouge... Villa Simonne offers exemplary accommodation in the heart of Houghton, as well as an exquisite venue for events and conferences. Borrowing design cues from bygone eras and inspired by the most enchanting cities of the world, the Art Deco boutique hotel conjures up vintage images of Casablanca, and comes to life like the pages of a Hemingway novel. Combining an exclusive location with breath taking scenery, Villa Simonne is a unique experience, and one you are not likely to read about in a travel guide. Accommodation Each suite is designed for comfort, and is uniquely styled with custom-made furniture and art deco pieces, to stimulate the imagination and enhance your stay. Guests have a choice of: Standard suites Deluxe suites 2-bedroom apartments Presidential suite – study, bedroom, walk in closet, steam room, Jacuzzi Wellness Villa Simonne incorporates a health track for those looking to recover and rejuvenate, or simply wanting to look and feel their best. All treatments are done in the comfort of the estate by our integrative network of health care professionals: dietician, specialist therapists and clinical psychologist. Our wellness menu ranges from beauty treatments, to holistic heath care and therapies. Massage Fresh juices Beauty Treatments – nails, facials, hair, waxing Botox and Fillers Ayurveda oil treatments Yoga classes Sauna Jacuzzi Psychotherapy – hypnotherapy and other modalities Entertainment and Events Villa Simonne’s event area is dramatically themed according to ancient cities and bygone eras, and may be hired out as the perfect backdrop for outstanding and memorable events – weddings, dinner parties, high teas, corporate and team-building events, casino evenings, as well as exclusive private parties. Conferencing The estate is complete with both indoor and outdoor conference areas, while the entertainment and breakaway areas create a comfortable destination where corporate guests can enjoy business meetings throughout the day, and a sophisticated social atmosphere in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing