We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most intriguing place to stay in Johannesburg”
Review of Villa Simonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Simonne
Ranked #19 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What an amazing place to stay in Johannesburg. Change the mood every hour if you like. The 50's style retro bar with black jack table and pinball machine is my favourite part. Every room has a theme and just adds such flare to your stay here. Recommend it highly for anyone who wants to stay centrally and have some fun at the same time.

Room Tip: My favourite has to be the Maharaj with its beautiful balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Digitalethiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful place with lovely individually themed rooms, and the most friendly and helpful staff you could hope for! We only had the pleasure of staying two nights there but were made to feel right at home from the start - would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Johannesburg!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank catimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had an awesome party at villa simmone. The organization was great and everything went perfectly! We stayed the night and the rooms are so interesting and artistic, huge and very comfortable!

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly!

Would definitely recommend villa simmone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toetsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Wonderful place to stay..the staff were very friendly and the accommodation was great. perfectly situated close to all the main attractions..had a great
stay. Though jhb in winter is not a good idea..:D..ha ha...we really enjoyed our time at Villa Simone..and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heididillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Simonne for over a week and my experience was first class. I stayed in the Moulin Rouge suite and the room was very comfortable and luxurious. The staff under the capable Dimitri were excellent and made my stay very relaxing. My only criticism would be that the evening menu needs more variety and perhaps a chicken dish for those who do not eat red meat, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending the night in the Moulin Rouge suite at Villa Simonne. The room was great, the staff were helpful and the hotel ambience is like nothing else in Johannesburg. Loved it and look forward to spending time in all the suites.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The first time I experience Villa Simmone was for a friends film screening in the cabaret bar. I was hooked. I recently celebrated my 40th birthday with close friends and family many of whom decided to take up accomodation. All rooms are themed. People couldn't stop speaking about the venue and rooms for weeks. The service is excellent and professional with a personal touch. Breakfast was fantastic. I now regularly book overseas clients and suppliers into Villa Simmone who always come back pleased with stories to tell of their rooms. Thank you Dimitri and team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acres40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
18.4 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#21 of 66 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
#20 of 66 in Johannesburg
177 reviews
5.9 mi away
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
House Higgo Boutique Guesthouse
#46 of 299 in Johannesburg
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Munro Boutique Hotel
The Munro Boutique Hotel
#32 of 299 in Johannesburg
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simonne

Address: 16 West Street | Lower Houghton, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Simonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Themed Suites - From Marrakesh to Moulin Rouge... Villa Simonne offers exemplary accommodation in the heart of Houghton, as well as an exquisite venue for events and conferences. Borrowing design cues from bygone eras and inspired by the most enchanting cities of the world, the Art Deco boutique hotel conjures up vintage images of Casablanca, and comes to life like the pages of a Hemingway novel. Combining an exclusive location with breath taking scenery, Villa Simonne is a unique experience, and one you are not likely to read about in a travel guide. Accommodation Each suite is designed for comfort, and is uniquely styled with custom-made furniture and art deco pieces, to stimulate the imagination and enhance your stay. Guests have a choice of: Standard suites Deluxe suites 2-bedroom apartments Presidential suite – study, bedroom, walk in closet, steam room, Jacuzzi Wellness Villa Simonne incorporates a health track for those looking to recover and rejuvenate, or simply wanting to look and feel their best. All treatments are done in the comfort of the estate by our integrative network of health care professionals: dietician, specialist therapists and clinical psychologist. Our wellness menu ranges from beauty treatments, to holistic heath care and therapies. Massage Fresh juices Beauty Treatments – nails, facials, hair, waxing Botox and Fillers Ayurveda oil treatments Yoga classes Sauna Jacuzzi Psychotherapy – hypnotherapy and other modalities Entertainment and Events Villa Simonne’s event area is dramatically themed according to ancient cities and bygone eras, and may be hired out as the perfect backdrop for outstanding and memorable events – weddings, dinner parties, high teas, corporate and team-building events, casino evenings, as well as exclusive private parties. Conferencing The estate is complete with both indoor and outdoor conference areas, while the entertainment and breakaway areas create a comfortable destination where corporate guests can enjoy business meetings throughout the day, and a sophisticated social atmosphere in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Simonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing