We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Excellent Service”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia, Usa
2 reviews
“Comfort and Excellent Service”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at 54 on Bath both before and after going on safari. Our rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms well equipped with luxurious towels & bathrobes. What makes this hotel stand out, however, is the service ethic of every employee. We were greeted by everyone with smiles and good wishes. We had some complicated arrangements to be made and the front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful--especially David and Charity. Lucas arranged a tour for us which was great. This is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear PatriciaG

Thanks for your lovely review and for your praise of David, Charity and Lucas. Itis pleasing to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel - our guests love that experience after coming back from safari!!
We do hope you stay again should you be travelling to South Africa.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    104
    15
    2
    8
See reviews for
66
228
22
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Grace has been turned into a modern first class boutique hotel. Service is outstanding and the location next to Rosebank Mall convenient (once the mall has been renovated). A few kinks to sort out - including weak wifi on one side of the building - a somewhat limited room service menu (but very good what is there) - and a wifi system that requires frequent log ins (leading to lost connections to corporate servers). What stood out was the friendliness and warmth of the staff - for a frequent business traveller this has particular value

Room Tip: For good wifi connection - chose rooms 5 or higher on whatever floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairobijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear nairobijohn,

Thank you for visiting 54 on Bath and for your Trip Advisor review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and subsequent to your review we have raised your repeated log-in issue with our service provider for investigation. I was rather hoping to meet you personally when you stayed but I'm sure we can leave that until your next visit to Johannesburg, which I hope will be sometime soon.
Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

54 on Bath was the Best Hotel experience of my life! Having lived in New York for 8 years I am used to high levels of service and great hotels. This hotel and was absolutely magical! The room was out of a movie: plush, elegant and beautifully designed. The staff could not do enough for us and always greeted us with a smile and a "can-do" attitude. Anyone staying in Johannesburg would be missing out on an experience of a lifetime if they did not stay here.
Thank you 54 on Bath...you will definitely be seeing us again!
Best Regards, Dimitri

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Dimitri646,

Thanks for taking the time to review 54 on Bath. I apologise for my late response but we have been extremely busy of recent. It is very satisfying to be acknowledged as your best hotel experience and it is surely all down to our fantastic team of staff. We have shared your experience with them. We do hope to have you visit us soon and even if not to stay over, to visit our Level Four restaurant.
Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having not been to the hotel since its last incarnation as The Grace, I can only say that this is truly a top 5 star establishment in Johannesburg. Well done. Every attention to detail is perfect. I will stay there again and I DO heartily recommend the hotel whether you are on a business trip or on holiday.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Owen2805,

Thanks for your kind words. We are very fortunate that you came back to try the hotel since it was known as The Grace and we thank you for your custom. We are equally delighted that you enjoyed your experience and do hope to have you visit us again soon.
Kind regards

Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I'm from around Johannesburg and never had I thought when I wanted a break away from life's busyness, I will find the best right next door. My husband and I had a fantastic time at your hotel. arriving on friday, to find our room all set for a romantic night as we were celebrating our anniversary, was the top of the cream. The food at the restaurant was nothing less than perfect. Thank you so much for a time well spend. Looking forward to visiting very soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise. Totally loved my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itumeleng2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Itumeleng2013,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your expereince of 54 on Bath. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary and we're very pleased that we could make a difference on such a special occasion. The nice thing about anniversaries or birthdays is that they come round every year so there is always a good reason to visit us again some time soon!
Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenbergbay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

From the time you arrived at the hotel to the time you departed you were overwhelmed with friendliness and helpfulness!! Nothing is too much for the staff. The newly refurbished bedrooms are elegantly designed and offer great comfort. I stayed on the 8th floor overlooking the pool and well manicured gardens. After making the reservation to stay at the hotel the hotel sent me a preference list to complete so that they understand me and what my needs are – great touch well done!! The food is fantastic! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms must b fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear ReinhardV,

Thank you for sharing your experience of 54 on Bath on Trip Advisor.We are delighted you noticed some of the small details that made a big difference to your stay. We do hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I went to a ladies afternoon tea in a large group and it was really good , the service was excellent and the food was presented on beautiful pink and green plates ( very harvey nics) and the hotel decor was beautiful well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear JillyB371,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor it is very much appreciated. Apologies first off for the delay in responding but we have been extremely busy of recent. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to 54 on Bath, it's not every day that one can claim to have taken afternoon tea with British Royalty but our venue matched the significane of the event. It certainly was a most memorable day! We do hope you visit again next tme you are in Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Property: 54 on Bath
Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing