We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant stay”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We have been dreaming of going to 54 on Bath since the day it opened. From the first to the last minute it was such an enjoyable experience and we will visit again very soon.
The welcome we received was amazing, the rooms were very elegant and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Elmar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear ElmarV,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, it is very much appreciated. We are humbled to hear that you have dreamt of staying at our little hotel since we opened 18 months ago and we thank you for visiting. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your experience and trust that we exceeded your expectations. Now that you've been in residence there's no excuse to not visit us again soon!

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    110
    19
    2
    9
See reviews for
68
245
23
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago during the 2010 world cup and it was superb. But wow, I am so amazed they have actually made the place so much better. The decor, the style, the whole feel of the place is about two levels higher, and I really did not think that would be possible.

I stayed a few weeks back, a lovely room on the second floor. Okay so it was a bit close to the lift for my preference, and the views out the windows are not great, but this hotel is really well located and there is so much to see and do just outside and around the corner.

The best aspects of this hotel are the internet, the food, breakfast is wonderful, and the beds, really great beds. The hotel is everything you expect, plus just a little more and it is almost impossible to find a flaw. If I have too I would just say the staff need to be more in tune with a single lady traveller. But they are still sweet and very helpful.

The best hotel in Jozi, and maybe all of SA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlairBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear BlairBush,

Thanks for your kind review and for coming back to the hotel, we have been under new ownership for 2 years and its great to hear how you've enjoyed our remodelled look. On your next visit I'd suggest you request a garden facing room. We have a high number of single female travellers and we do have specific extras and services available for ladies, please ask for Kasia when you return.

Hope to see you soon!
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is very hard to fault. And I´m usually very good at finding faults ;-)

From the moment you walk in to be greeted by the check in staff at your sofa, to the fantastic rooms, to the amazing breakfast. I saw the manager walking around all day just making sure everything was perfect. And it was his attention to detail that made this place so special.

I was there for business, and would go back with the family, although it has to be said it probably suits grown ups better!

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor next to the elevator (room 905). This was a great room, and you could not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank up2eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear up2eleven,

Thank you for your review and for staying at 54 on Bath. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. Please do bring the family next time, we have developed interconnecting rooms specifically for those who like to share their travel experiences. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

From the moment we walked in until after we checked out....the fantastic Team at 54 on Bath made sure that we were aware of the style, taste and quality service unlike any other hotel we have been to. The attention to detail and the many, many extra's that we did not bargain on made the stay absolutely unforgettable. From complimentary champagne vouchers to a little gift set on departure, they had it all. It certainly makes being a Frequent Guest at TsogoSun Hotels worth it! I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylark1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Skylark1983

Thanks for taking the time to review 54 on Bath on Trip Advisor! We feel very honoured to be the best hotel you have visited and especially that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Hopefully it won't be too long before you return!

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed at 54 on Bath at Rosebank Johannesburg for 15 days, can't believe that at the end it was like I spent less than a week. Spacious and clean rooms. The team was phenomenal from receptionist, bar, security, porters, waiters and management.The quality of meals would be fit for Monarchs, Queens and Kings and Heads of state.

Having travelled the world I am yet to find the quality of food and service matching team 54 on Bath.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear JabuM,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review of 54 on Bath. We are delighted to be of service to you and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Admittedly it is easier to notice or encounter small issues when you stay for a long time in a hotel but I am glad we could keep the standards consistent during your long stay. Whilst we count Monarchs, Kings, Queens and Heads of State among our guests we feel that we devote our care and attention to all our guests no matter who they may be.

I most certainly hope we see you again in 2014 and thank you sincerely for your loyal support this year.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Formerly the Grace Hotel, this renovated property is indeed a superior experience all-round. The hotel is still graceful and elegant and is befitting of a top hotel grade. The stand-out feature to me was superior service - from almost everyone I encountered. South African hotel service tends to be somewhat erratic but this was consistent - consistently superb! I was though a little disappointed that the rooms seemed all too similar to the former Grace establishment which had become a little tired and was then transformed and re-launched as this property. However, the rooms are well appointed - great large screen TV and bathroom amenities. A small desert is delivered each evening to your room - a lovely touch (along with free garment pressing) although one you will pay for in the pricy room rates. My one real irritation was unusable internet access which despite being promised simply did not work. Internet is often an issue in hotels, but I have found that the pricier the establishment, the more erratic the internet! The hotel is excellent for a business trip although hotels should really avoid using glass-top desks as this prevents a mouse from working well. Breakfast was good - more boutique-style than an extensive buffet and I felt that some additional choices could've been offered like better breads. Naturally the hotel benefits well from being within walking distance to the Rosebank Gautrain station. It is also attached to the Rosebank shopping areas which at the time of writing were a virtual construction site due to extensive remodelling of the adjacent shopping malls. Once the retail area is complete, this hotel will become even more well located. As a business traveller, I like the area for its choice of movie houses within walking distance at night or day when I have a free evening in-between meetings! Room rates are high and you can shop around for other competitive hotels. It's a great hotel if you need to be in Rosebank and you will not be sorry for spending the extra on great service. From a foreign traveller point of view, Sandton offers more in terms of shopping and food but 54 on Bath clearly sets the service bar very high for the entire Johannesburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear polanalyst,

Thanks very much for your extensive review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience. I'm sorry that you had issues with our internet service - we do not often have problems in this regard but if you ask for myself or Dudu on your next visit we'll do what we can to help you through any connection problems. We can also assist with a mouse mat!
Rosebank is certainly a great place to be and the area has seen many great developments in recent times, not least the extensive addition of shops to the Rosebank Mall, attached to the hotel. Add another two malls and a plethora of restaurants and it is an ideal place for our foreign travellers to experience Joburg as a local with the added bonus of being able to walk around safely in the extensive pedestrianised areas.
We do hope to see you again soon when you are next in Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at 54 on Bath both before and after going on safari. Our rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms well equipped with luxurious towels & bathrobes. What makes this hotel stand out, however, is the service ethic of every employee. We were greeted by everyone with smiles and good wishes. We had some complicated arrangements to be made and the front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful--especially David and Charity. Lucas arranged a tour for us which was great. This is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear PatriciaG

Thanks for your lovely review and for your praise of David, Charity and Lucas. Itis pleasing to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel - our guests love that experience after coming back from safari!!
We do hope you stay again should you be travelling to South Africa.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Property: 54 on Bath
Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing