We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Joburg”
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed there on the 14th Feb 2014. The service is the best I ever received from the time I drove up!!!!!!!!!!!!
Very clean and the staff are all friendly!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms are very comfortable
The dinner and breakfast was the finest and a 1st for me.
I must go back there soon..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabianbag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Fabianbag 123,

Thanks so much for leaving your review on Trip Advisor. It's great to learn that you loved your stay over recently, it is our ultimate aim to ensure that all our guests have an experience like this. We look forward to having you return again very soon!

Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I enjoyed all that the hotel had to offer during my stay there. I was in a standard room but it was quite big and had everything i could ask for in a hotel room. The service was really good at all time of the day. The only negative is the size of the shower, a bit to small.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Manny R,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are proud to have lived up to delivering a memorable experience and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I frequently travel to Johannesburg, have stayed at many other hotels and choose 54 on Bath whenever I can. The service is excellent - very friendly, prompt and professional. The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet. I enjoy the restaurant - particularly when I am able to eat outdoors! The location is very good in relation to the Gautrain (to and from the airport and Sandton) and all the shops and restaurants of Rosebank. This place deserves the rave reviews it gets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Richard P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really appreciate it. It is always a pleasure to welcome you home to 54 on Bath when you are in Johannesburg. Your sentiment is exactly what we set out to acheive when we opened the hotel 18 months ago and it brings great delight to the team to hear we are acheiving our goals and making a difference to our guests' experience.

Or fourth floor terrace garden is a wonderful place to eat alfresco, just this morning almost all of our guests elected to eat outside. Aside of the great views, the tranquility of the lawns and the natural shade of our London Plane trees it gives one a great feeling of being metres from the city yet miles from the fuss.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Mall is under construction in Feb 2014.
The Mall escalators were not working and there were no signs to help you find your way to an exit or back to the hotel.
Heavy construction work makes it unsuitable for tourist access from the second floor bridge from the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dea Richard D,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to review 54 on Bath on Trip Advisor, Yes, the mall is a little bit tricky to navigate at the moment as they upgrade their facility however within the next few weeks this will be more manageable, and very soon after that we'll have a completely new walkway built and decorated. Sorry you had to see it at it's worst but we have passed on your observations to mall management to address.

I hope we can welcome you back to 54 on Bath next time you are in Johannesburg and I'm sure by then you'll see a world of difference.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

45 ON BATH exceeded my expectations, room 901 with one of the best JHB view. Excellent service from their restaurant to the Champagne bar, is worth every single cent with the waiter Vincent. This young man is got what i call it attention to detail basics 10/10, the awareness and visibility of staff at all times was great

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Vinnie3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Vinnie3105,

Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your time at 54 on Bath, and yes room 901 has great views of the Joburg skyline. (Little insider tip - all our corner rooms are great ;-)). Thank you for highlighting Vincent's service as having made an impact on your visit - he has been with the team since we opened and is a valued member of Level Four's team - we shall certainly pass on your comments.

We hope to see you next time you are in Joburg.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have never experienced the level of customer service and attention to detail, as I did during my stay at 54 On Bath, ever before. They exceeded all expectations. It came to point where we would joke that someone was going to tuck us into bed --- "night cap" macaroons sent up to our room before dinner, gym bags provided with mp3 player and more... any wish or desire, the staff will go out of their way to meet. Luxury, and value for money, this is our favorite hotel, and we will strongly recommend anyone visiting Jo'burg to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Sophia L,

Thank you for taking some time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted you noticed the little details that set up apart from other hotels, more so that you enjoyed them! We hope that we shall become your new address the next time you are in Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My stay at 54 on Bath exceeded my expectations. Previously known as The Grace, I assumed that this property will downgrade to a 4 star hotel in the Tsogo Sun group. Wrong assumption! The beautifull interior is classic English, the service superb from all staff members we encountered. My room was spacious, the kingsize bed most comfortable. My only disappointment was that I stayed only for one night. I wanted to stay there forever....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank JulieFevrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear JulieFevrier,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience of 54 on Bath. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. We hope your next visit to Johannesburg will allow you to indulge in that extra night in luxury!

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £133 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing