We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“54 On Bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 54 on Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
54 on Bath
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California
1 review
“54 On Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent property and great staff. Only there one night but enjoyed our stay. Food for dinner and breakfast was 5 star and reasonably priced. You won't be disappointed. Every employee was professional and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Gary S,

It was a great pleasure reading your very kind review of 54 on Bath. Thank you for going to so much trouble.The team are absolutely delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back.

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    100
    15
    2
    8
See reviews for
65
218
20
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

54 on Bath was excellent. It is very well positioned in Johannesburg and it's access to the adjacent mall is a real bonus. The room was beautiful and the dining room and food were outstanding. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Bill M,

Thank you so much for the very kind review of your stay at 54 on Bath. It is so rewarding to see how much you enjoyed your stay. We really do enjoy our jobs and I am very happy to see that this manifested itself in your experience. I hope that we will welcome you home very soon.

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a great experience. As a regular business traveller, I so enjoy coming "home" to 54 on Bath. Every business need is taken care of in a 5 star way, and the staff are always friendly and accommodating, no matter what the challenge!



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Selwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Selwyn L,

We are absolutely delighted to see how impressed you were with the standard of service at 54 on Bath. Thank you so much for your very kind review. The team receive tremendous encouragement from wonderful feedback like yours. Hopefully, it will not be too long before we are able to welcome you back home.

Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at 54 on Bath over Easter weekend. The hotel is situated in the trendy and busy area of Rosebank with lots of restaurants and shopping areas around. Yet once you're in the hotel's front door you are transported to a hush boutique hotel with wonderful interiors. All the staff were friendly and helpful with all our queries and were there when you needed them.

We had a corner room on the 6th floor with views across the pool area as well as the whole of Johannesburg. The rooms are actually much bigger than expected and we loved the interiors of the room and hotel. The thoughtful touches like the macaroons and drink as a nightcap was wonderful. Loved the macaroons. We also received an anniversary high tea plate when we returned from lunch the first afternoon. Loved the touches like this.

We only ate lunch at the hotel's restaurant, and did find it a bit overpriced, as there are many other restaurants in the area that will provide better value for money. Yet we thoroughly enjoyed the lunch and wine next to the pool area. The Verve Clicquot Champagne bar is small but also a highlight of the hotel. Enjoyed bubbly here prior to our dinner out.

All in all this truly is a wonderful hotel with beautifully appointed areas and staff that is willing to help with anything. We loved our stay at this hotel and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try for a corner room as they seem to be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear mitxcoac

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review of your stay at 54 on Bath. We are all so happy to see how much you enjoyed this visit and we do hope it is not too long before we can welcome you back home to 54 on Bath, Rosebank.

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

54 on Bath is a top hotel in a fantastic location. The restaurant serves fantastic meals and the staff are all very friendly and efficient. The rooms are modern and have great views of the city. The location is close to the Gautrain station and a shopping mall.The hotel offers everything you will need for a stay in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jennifer S,

Thanks for taking time to review of 54 on Bath. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you made good use of our facilities and great location. We hope it's not too long before you visit again.

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at 54 on Bath again during a business trip to Johannesburg. This is one of the best hotels around and the customer service is incredible. You feel so welcome and at home from the minute you set foot into the hotel lobby. The meals are impeccable and the rooms breathtaking. Not to mention that the hotel is so central. 54 on Bath is definitely a must see!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighAnne_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear LeighAnne_Will,

Thanks again for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to welcome our guests back home to 54 on Bath and I do hope that you will consider 54 Bath Avenue your address whilst you visit Johannesburg. Hope to see you very soon!

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of a group safari tour of southern Africa. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are beautifully appointed including comfortable beds and espresso makers in the rooms. We loved the breakfast in the morning. Fantastic fruit plate, superb croissants and fresh eggs to order. We found the location to be convenient and quiet. Laundry turnaround was within several hours. What I loved the best were the FANTASTIC french macaroons delivered in the evening!! Even better than Paris. I would definitely return to this hotel anytime I am in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afriendla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54onBathJNB, Manager at 54 on Bath, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear afriendla,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review 54 on Bath. Our team of passionate employees have a genuine care for each of our guests and take pride in all that they do,it is great to hear that they made a difference to your stay. Delighted to learn that you enjoyed our macaroons and I have passed on your compliments to Beverley,our pastry chef. We have around 30 different flavours of macaroon- I hope that's a great motivation to visit us again soon!
Kind regards
Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 54 on Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 54 on Bath

Property: 54 on Bath
Address: 54 Bath Avenue | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa (Formerly The Grace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — 54 on Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 On Bath is the iconic landmark hotel in the heart of Rosebank, Joburg's vibrant and eclectic tree-lined neighbourhood of eateries, entertainment and art. Offering an exceptional standard of home away from home hospitality our bedrooms exude the elegance, warmth and serenity of fine living, each with views over the garden or abundantly green city skyline. A total of 75 elegantly decorated rooms are offered, comprising 51 Deluxe King Bed Rooms, 8 Deluxe Twin Bed Rooms, 12 Executive Rooms and 3 Luxury Suites. A Universal Accessible room is also available featuring roll-in shower, lowered facilities and a 24-hour monitored emergency help alarm. There are 4 sets of interconnecting rooms ideally suited for families. Each en-suite room is fully equipped with a host of facilities to meet your every need; free and unlimited WiFi, outstanding tea and coffee offering, block-out curtains, 24-hour room service, Cable TV, mini-bar and air-conditioning. Decor is soft and subtle, with pure white linens set against black, grey, teal and cream for an overall calming effect and enjoyable sleeping experience. Our Luxury Suites boast private lounges, spacious en-suite bathrooms and a balcony overlooking the city's northern suburbs. Rosebank is a perfect introduction for first time visitors to the city and with a direct link into the Rosebank Mall the neighboring street cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, world class art galleries, entretainment and the famous Africa Craft Market are right on your doorstep. The abundance of pedestrianised streets and a round the clock "bobby on the beat" security initiative makes it is safe to explore the area on foot and at your own pace. The attractions of Sandton are also nearby should you be keen to explore Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton City or Melrose Arch. We believe it's the simple things in life that make the difference and at Level Four Restaurant you'll enjoy distinctive modern dining. Classic and elegant Level Four offers a superb a la carte breakfast and whilst lunch is a casual light affair, dinner is the perfect opportunity to choose from the excellent a la carte menu. Extremely popular with local Johannesburg residents we recommend you make advance bookings at Level Four. Our Veuve Clicquot Champagne bar offers a range of France's finest alongside cocktails and wines accompanied by sumptuous bar snacks. Overlooking the terrace garden, the champagne bar is the perfect meeting spot for business get-togethers, pre-dinner drinks and evening sundowners. 54 On Bath is 15 miles/35 minutes by car and 18 minutes by Gautrain from O.R Tambo International Airport and 5 miles/ 10 minutes from both downtown Johannesburg and the Sandton CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your 54 on Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing