We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Joburg Service”

Catz Tours & Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Our World of Tours, with true South African hospitality we provide popular day tours in Johannesburg, senior citizen trips and tour packages in Southern Africa. Come and meet South Africans and enjoy our beautiful country. We specialize in, Johannesburg & Soweto and Pilanesberg National Park. We’re passionate about helping our guests to experience and enjoy everything that we can offer in our continent of Africa and, we really like what we do as your hosts. Visit our web site for further info or e-mail us.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great Joburg Service”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have had great pleasure dealing with the team from Catz tours. They are knowledagable, courteous and really know how to put the customer first. Their passion for the country and what it can offer tourists comes through in everything they do.

Great job guys!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harl_A2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry Z, Owner at Catz Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
It was a pleasure meeting you and to showcase our beautiful city. In general, South Africans are friendly warm people and courtesy is part of the life style and thank you for making it interesting. Perhaps one day, we meet again and show you our animals and the bush and everything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked our tour based on TA reviews. Expectations were high since reviews are so great. Catz tour delivered a tremendous experience. From the first exchange with Annekie to create a private tour that would meet our wishes to the very last moment we had to say goodbye to Henry, everything was beyond what we were hoping for. They were very flexible to create a tour accordingly with places we wanted to visit. Henry shared his knowledge of history, tooked us to places we wanted to visit and was very respecteful of our rhythm to assimilate the culture and the reality of Johannesburg and Soweto. He was very patient with all our demands and always ready to answer any of our questions. I will remember the very positive vibration around people we met and improvments that were made over the years. Furthermore, Henry gave us a lot of advice for the rest of our trip and we booked another tour with Annekie to visit a zulu community near Durban that was also a great experience.

When we left Canada for our trip to South Africa, people told us not to stay in Johannesburg nor Soweto. On our side we think this is a must and Catz Tours (Henry and Annekie) certainly was the reason we feel that way. They make you confortable and make you regret you planned only a one day stop before visiting the rest of the country. Thanks to you both!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EJC727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catz T, Owner at Catz Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to help you arrange the tour to Johannesburg and Soweto and then of course in Durban, Henry really enjoyed taking you on tour and sharing our rich culture and history with you. When you plan your next visit, let me know and we will make sure you see even more of our wonderful country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Johannesburg/Soweto Tour”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I would recommend this tour to anyone. We were taken around Johannesburg for the history of the city and surrounding areas. The best piece was our Soweto tour that took us into an area that housed 20,000 people in a very small portion of Soweto. No electricity, barely running water, but very happy people. We were able to visit a day care in this area and meet several children. We did bring juice, sweets, etc with us to hand out to the kids. An awarding experience and one that we will never forget.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catz T, Owner at Catz Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you again for making the children so happy with the juice and sweets. They still talk about it when we visit and just want to know when you will be back. It is always great to take people on tour that has such a kind heart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Henry Was Great!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Henry was a great guide.. he showed us around JoBerg and took us to a small village "Motsoaledi" what a great experience! He was just a real treat and told us the history of the city etc. I would use Henry again and I look forward to going back to S. Africa! A truly amazing place!

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank TravelGRL1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catz T, Owner at Catz Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
So glad that you enjoyed the tour with Henry. History is Henry's passion and he really enjoys sharing our wonderful and colourful history with our guests. Hope to see you in South Africa again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Airport Pickup and Day Tour in Johannesburg, Including Jewish Heritage”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I arrived in Johannesburg in early morning and had the full day available before our safari/tour started the next morning. We contracted with Catz for an airport pickup and day tour of Johannesburg with an emphasis on Jewish Heritage. Annekie was terrific to deal with in making arrangements via email. She was efficient and responsive. Henry met us at the airport upon arrival just as promised. He helped us find an ATM and get some Rand. He took us to the hotel to check in and drop our luggage and then took us on a tour of the highlights of Johannesburg, including Jewish history. He was very personable, had a good sense of humor, and was extremely knowledgeable of both the Jewish history and of Johannesburg itself. The experience turned out to be everything we had hoped for on our first day in South Africa. We found the cost to be fair and would heartily recommend Catz to anyone looking for a similar experience.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank Normbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catz T, Owner at Catz Tours & Safaris, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
It was our pleasure to make sure that you enjoyed your first day in our lovely country. Our history is very interesting and we love to learn more and more every day. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catz Tours & Safaris also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Catz Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing