We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kruger and Mohlabetsi safari lodge”

Wildlife Safaris Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: WILDLIFE SAFARIS is an independent Tour Operator specializing in small group safaris to Kruger National Park. The company was established in 1971 and is a founder member of the SA Tourism Services Association (SATSA). Our tours are planned to suit clients looking for a comfortable standard of transport and accommodation together with an informative guide and successful Big 5 game viewing. Accordingly, prices are mid-range with personalised service and value for money.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kruger and Mohlabetsi safari lodge”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a trip of a lifetime. Christine was so helpful with organising everything for us. We stayed at Waybury House the night before our safari which was perfect. The safari itself was just amazing and our guide, Clive was fantastic. We saw amazing wildlife and Clive was so knowledgeable and made sure we had the perfect safari experience. The accommodation was excellent and the night at the Mohlabetsi safari lodge was a truly unforgettable experience. I can't rate this company and tour highly enough and our group hasn't stopped talking about the experience. Thankyou.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perhaps also reviewed under "Themba"”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I am not sure why there are so few reviews for this tour company. They are a well established business. We booked the 3 day Kruger Tour from Johannesburg.

In any case, our experience with Wildlife Safaris was wonderful. Our guide Susan picked us up in Johannesburg (Waybury House which I strongly recommend) in a very clean and comfortable van. We then picked up two other passengers and made our way to Kruger.

Susan is very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. She told us about the region we were travelling in as well as the wildlife. She understood that we were excited about our first impala sighting even though they are a dime a dozen. She would stop for anything we thought we might have seen just to ensure we didn't miss a sighting. She also took care of the details for our food and lodging very efficiently. We didn't have to think about anything.

This was our first exposure to game drives and it was a wonderful introduction. We were warm and dry inside the van, but the group was small enough that everyone still had a good view. We learned about all of the flora and fauna of the area. This came in handy when we went to the Private Game reserve where the tracker and guide only seemed interested in big game and wouldn't stop for anything else.

The meals enroute were sufficient. We were able to sample some game and local cuisine. The accomodations in Kruger were basic but fine. We stayed at Skukuza camp and were only there for 12 hours. The gift shop is nice and the dinner was very good. The cabin was plain and mostly clean, but a bit chilly.

Our second stop was Shiduli in the Karongwe Reserve. It was much fancier but it had its own issues. (leaking roofs during rain)

Wildlife was very easy to book and confirm online. Everything went as arranged and we had a wonderful time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank A-M197211625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect 3 day tour of Kruger”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Everything was perfect. Was picked up from airport, driven to Kruger National Park than back to airport after the third day. The guide was awesome. Loves his job and the park. Very knowledgable. I am not an animal lover but I had a great time and would recommend this to anyone. Three days is perfect. The price was good as well. Food was awesome the entire trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMEND!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My boyfriend and I did the 5 Day Kruger Park Safari, Private Lodge & Panorama Route with Wildlife Safaris - it was the highlight of our trip to South Africa! Our guide Clive was friendly, extremely knowledgeable and had some great stories from his years as a tour guide. His love of the animals and passion for Kruger Park was evident, and it really added to the enjoyment of our trip. Stopping at Blyde River Canyon (via the Panorama Route) is a must do, the views are breath taking! Kruger Park was unforgettable, with many animals to see! Clive found some great spots - I could have watched the elephants playing in the watering hole for hours! We chose Mohlabetsi Safari Lodge for our private accommodation to end the trip and would recommend staying here to anyone! Food and rooms were amazing, and our guides were able to get us only a couple feet away from a pack of sleeping lions. Absolutely loved our experience with Wildlife Safaris. Thanks again Clive!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildlife Safaris Day Tours also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Wildlife Safaris Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing