We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sophia's Bistro

Sophia's Bistro
Ranked #229 of 1,183 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: US$107 - US$322
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sophia's Bistro has been going for over 25 years of which 5 of those years have been in its new location Illovo Square. Under new management since 03/2016 Sophia's is staying true to its roots of good food at a good price. We look forward to welcoming back our regulars and look forward to sharing our amazing menu with our new customers. Simon, Aureen and the Sophia's Team
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hearty meals”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Sophia's best dish is their seafood pasta..it is so yummy. The atmosphere is intimate and staff are very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shainy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
280 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Sophia's moved from Rosebank to Illovo,( 2kms/1.5miles from Sandton City) about a year ago now.
The food is good to very good and the prices reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the best restaurant in Joburg”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I gave this restaurant 3 stars for the service and atmosphere, which was pleasant. This restaurant is named after Sophia Loren, so naturally it was decorated accordingly. It is a bit of an older crowd, but still a nice vibe. I came here with my aunt and cousin and our experience with the food was not so great. I ordered the moussaka, and it was very mediocre. I will leave it at that, but I was definitely expecting better. I believe my aunt ordered the Greek salad which was also "meh", but the olives literally tasted like moth balls. Repulsive. However, we ordered the creme brulee and it was very good. Sophia's saving grace is the creme brulee. Come here for wine and dessert.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriellamelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard vibe ”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is very nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Food is good and tasty but a touch expensive on the meat side. I will go back.

Helpful?
Thank 9Marcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food made us sick”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

were so excited to visit sophias illovo since the rosebank spot is fabulous -but the food was really bad and we were actually ill the next day

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liesl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophia's Bistro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sophia's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing