We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great experience!!”

Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine
Ranked #887 of 1,216 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a great experience!!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Booked weeks in advance, asked if they will be open on the 16th of Dec as it is a public holiday. Stated all will be fine. At 4 pm on the 16th a phone call was received requetingthat we come earlier as the chef want to leave early. We had already firmed up arrangements will another couple traveling for the east rand.

While still eating we were requested to place desert orders as the kitchen was closing early!!

Food OK - nothing out of the ordinary - service very mediocre.

Not sure if they will make it!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisvz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    10
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Unedible”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The only thing redeeming about this restaurant was the private dining room and the waiter with a good sense of humour. Other than that the food was expensive and in one instance unedible. The tofu could have been sucked up through a straw. The spring rolls were bland and mostly pastry. The chicken was dry. The tiramisu lacked flavor and the mango pudding was runny.

Very disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This restaurant is situated in a prime position in Johannesburg. They are not shy with their prices, but, do not deliver on service, food or ambiance. The food was at most mediocre. Many take away Chinese restaurants offer better. My major mistake was trusting a restaurant with a menu longer than a novel. Most chefs tell us not to and there is a very clear reason for this. It is simply impossible to deliver a quality standard of food when too much is on offer. And Gwefey is a perfect example of this.
The service was slow. The waiter did not know the menu. We were half way through our dumplings when she arrived with a wad of paper serviettes and dumped them in front of us. This was the first appearance of any serviettes. Surely cloth napkins would be more appropriate for a restaurant charging as much as they do?
We finished our "meal" as quickly as possible, paid and could not wait to get out. Definitely never again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but disappointing”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very nice looking restaurant and lovely decoration but that is all, The World Trade Centre Gwefey restaurant was a disappointment to me and my family, I was so looking forward to have my Nasi Goreng that ended up back in the kitchen, nothing like the one I had in Bali, started was good tho ( Tempura - Prawns / Vegetarian and the Dim Sum) but that's all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food! Wish there was more...”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The waitress was totally useless, and for the,prices and,location one would expect way more! The food was incredible, but totally didnt match up with the menu that explained the portion sizes. We left with empty pockets and stomachs.
So sad

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Athvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Gwefey Redefined Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing